RCU Forums

RCU Forums (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/giant-scale-aircraft-3d-aerobatic-110/)
-   -   Need HELP switching/repairing Walbro carb on a US Engines 41.... (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/giant-scale-aircraft-3d-aerobatic-110/2105099-need-help-switching-repairing-walbro-carb-us-engines-41-a.html)

aronhk_md 08-21-2004 12:11 PM

Need HELP switching/repairing Walbro carb on a US Engines 41....

I'm still fairly new to the sport, so I could definitely use some help from the small gas engine experts here. I bought a US Engines 41 used from a gentleman here in the marketplace, and I believe him when he says it ran for him. Unfortunately, it wouldnt run for me because it was just letting the gas pour straight through the carb at a heavy rate......non-stop from the moment I hooked up the gas line. After some searching online I came to the conclusion it might be the spring not putting enough tension on that rubber coated needle that the diaphragm moves.

I took it apart and stretched the spring a bit, put it back together, and VIOLA! No more gas pouring through, but it won't start, and now I'm thinking maybe I stretched it too much and it is not letting ANY gas in.

I also acquired a brand new carb from a 40cc chainsaw, and perhaps I can just replace the problem carb with it. The only problem is that the new carb has nipples for TWO gas lines....one slightly smaller than the other. I don't know if this second line is just an overflow going back to the tank, or what. I noticed my weedwacker has the same setup with two lines.