Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - General
Reload this Page >

Full Scale to RC Conversion

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

Full Scale to RC Conversion

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2010, 05:11 PM
airplaneclem

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Full Scale to RC Conversion

Hello, everyone. I was interested in a J-3 cub, and being a full- scale pilot, i decided to purchase one. now im looking at replacing it with a 182, but instead i thought there would be a way to convert it into an RCmodel. This means finding MASSIVEservos to drop into the wings, or to find a way to mountservos to control the control stick. i dont need to worry about throttle or rudder because i have all of that, but i do need servos that put out, mmm, about fifteen to twenty pounds of force. I was hoping someone could help.

Old 10-16-2010, 05:51 PM
FLYINMIKE-RCU
My Feedback: (25)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Full Scale to RC Conversion

Might Check These Out. I Believe They Have Ample Torque.

http://www.servosystems.com/thomson_12vdc_actuators.htm
Old 10-16-2010, 07:52 PM
Chip_Mull
My Feedback: (1)

Why? Please be careful where you fly it. One mistake by this aircraft and the FAA will have the ammo they need to control the rest of us.
Old 10-16-2010, 08:35 PM
airplaneclem

ooh, yeah your right. i guess i'll fly it as a UAV, or just not at all. i could sit in the cock pit and use the transmitter, or i'll put cameras on it and use the handheld radio i used to use in the cub. but your right, one mistake and the FAA will have my butt. thanks for the heads up, i'll do some research. it would be sad to build the thing and then not be able to fly it. and just because it'd be a fun thing to do. i've never heard of a full scale RC plane, have you?

Old 10-16-2010, 09:17 PM
Chip_Mull
My Feedback: (1)