Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - General
Reload this Page >

Top-Flite Giant Scale F4U Corsair landing question

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

Top-Flite Giant Scale F4U Corsair landing question

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2010, 06:22 PM
rcpilot6969
My Feedback: (31)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Top-Flite Giant Scale F4U Corsair landing question

Does anybody know the secret of wheel landing the Top-Flite giant Corsair. I've been flying aerobatic planes and scale warbirds for over 20 years and and can't seem to be able to get this Corsair on the ground without it bouncing two or three times. I have an Aeroworks P-51 and a Top-Flite giant P-47 and don't have a problem with either with wheel landings. Just wondering if anybody out there knows the answer.
Old 11-12-2010, 09:14 PM
Edwin
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Top-Flite Giant Scale F4U Corsair landing question

I can only tell you what I witnessed many years back. A guy had a .60 sized TF P-51 with the same problem. The old instructor told him to take the springs out of the retracts and put in wood dowels. He did it, and the next weekend didnt have any more problems with bounce. I dont know why it worked, just that it did. Take this info with a grain of salt, I'm just passing on what I saw. I know from my own experience that my wire strut retracts dont bounce near as much as my oleo's. I never gave it much thought until your post.
Edwin
Old 11-12-2010, 09:30 PM
rcpilot6969

Thanks for the reply Edwin. I'm ready to try anything. I think I'll try shimming the retract springs to make them stiffer and see what happens.
Old 11-13-2010, 07:58 AM
Edwin