Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - General
Reload this Page >

QUESTIONS ON ESM DC-3

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

QUESTIONS ON ESM DC-3

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2011, 07:41 AM
BUGGS50
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: QUESTIONS ON ESM DC-3

Hi Mike,

How's things going? Just thought I'd give you an update on my C47. Sanded the DELTA scheme off and now going to go with a WW2 olive drab scheme, I cut the side cargo doors out and will have them so they open. I'm going to have paratroopers, I had to beef up the fuse since I cut a huge hole in the side. right now I'm riveting, using tite bond glue and 1 dot at a time. This is my first time riveting and panel lines not sure how this is going to turn out. Before I paint I will be running the control lines. One thing I noticed on the pictures you posted was you did pocket hinges on the rudder. I need to learn how to do that. Your plane really looks great, I hope mine turns out that good.

Bill
Old 12-26-2011, 03:37 PM
AncientCityFlyer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Bill, good to hear from you. I was wondering how things were going. I'm still stuck neutral. I've come out of retirement for a job offer I couldn't refuse, but it keeps me busy 8-10 hrs/day, sometimes 6-1/2 days a week, yuck! So not much time to do much of anything including working on the AC-47. You noted about the rudder. It's not actually pocketed. I used robart pin hinges and just painted it to look like the real thing. I did howver recess them into the fin and rudder deeply. Let me know how it goes. Mike
Old 12-26-2011, 07:27 PM
BUGGS50

Hey Mike,

Thanks for replying. I took another look at the picture and it sure fooled me. But another thing I just noticed, Your rudder is angled at the bottom like the real one. Mine is straight, How did you pull that one off?

Bill
Old 12-27-2011, 06:06 AM
AncientCityFlyer