Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 25 of 25

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Lancaster, KY
    Posts
    80
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    wing servo wire tubes?

    What is a low cost way to run servo wires in large wings..80"...some sort of tubing ...so you don't have to go fishing in the event of a problem..Any ideas on this?

    thx,Dave

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Round Hill, VA
    Posts
    750
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?


    ORIGINAL: DaveFri

    What is a low cost way to run servo wires in large wings..80"...some sort of tubing ...so you don't have to go fishing in the event of a problem..Any ideas on this?

    thx,Dave
    Estes rocket tubes BT-5 or Bt-20 work real well.

    www.estesrockets.com/rockets/accessories/tubes-couplers-lugs

    You can also roll up a sheet of paper. I recommend something heavier that standard printer paper, maybe heavy photo paper about 13x19. But you will find the Estes tubes to be much cheaper.




  3. #3
    ByLoudDesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,171
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    The 1/4" poly water line from Lowel's works also!
    Kits: F11C-2 1:4, Do-24T 1:8, P-3 1:10, Howard 500 1:5, XFY-1 1:4, SR-9 1:4, V-22 1/6, B-25J 1:4, F+W C3603 1:5

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Lancaster, KY
    Posts
    80
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    are these tubes heavy?? the poly and rocket tubes?

  5. #5
    rafeeki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    St John, IN
    Posts
    332
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    How about using the cardboard tube heat shrink covering is wraped over.
    "KISS" is my moto (keep it simple silly)
    CUB Brotherhood #008

  6. #6
    ByLoudDesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    1,171
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    Not really, plus you can route them right to the servo, where cardboard needs to be straight!
    Kits: F11C-2 1:4, Do-24T 1:8, P-3 1:10, Howard 500 1:5, XFY-1 1:4, SR-9 1:4, V-22 1/6, B-25J 1:4, F+W C3603 1:5

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Montgomery, TX
    Posts
    258
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    I just fish a couple of #10 washers tied to sewing thread through the wing and then tie the thread to the servo connector wire.  I only have to do it once or twice over the lifetime of a plane and it really does save a little weight. 

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Lancaster, KY
    Posts
    80
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    the string and washer idea is simple enough!!.....and cheap!!

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Huntingdon Valley, PA
    Posts
    44
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    Just roll up a piece of paper add a little tape and make a tube.

  10. #10
    scale only 4 me's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Avon Lake, OH
    Posts
    8,240
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?


    ORIGINAL: DaveFri

    the string and washer idea is simple enough!!.....and cheap!!
    It's the way I've done it for years also
    You're so smart,, you figured out how to read this!! Or maybe ya just got lucky??

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Millington, MI
    Posts
    960
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?


    ORIGINAL: scale only 4 me


    ORIGINAL: DaveFri

    the string and washer idea is simple enough!!.....and cheap!!
    It's the way I've done it for years also
    A pile of sewing thread in the servo/pocket & a vacuum sweeper suction hose where you want it to exit......Done!....

  12. #12
    Charlie P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Port Crane, NY
    Posts
    4,821
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?


    ORIGINAL: doswings

    Just roll up a piece of paper add a little tape and make a tube.
    What he said. Wrap a dowel in waxed paper, wrap it in paper smeared with Titebond and let it dry, then slide out the dowel.




    Use a 1/2" copper pipe sharpened at one end to cut the holes (if you decided to do this AFTERthe ribs are glued in place).




    Or go to a hardware store and get six feet of pull-chain for ceiling lights. Push it in the servo opening, jiggle the wing until the loose end drips out the center of the wing, then us masking tape to hold the extension plug and pull it back up through the servo opening. Works great.
    Charlie P. (NY) "Gravity is weak but persistant".

    AMA 747089/IMAA 30723

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    3,141
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    T&T Landing Gear provides some very nice 36" long tubes and the price is not excessive. Go here .....

    http://www.tntlandinggear.com/store/...ccessories.htm

    I use to do the rolled up paper thing until I discovered these T&T tubes. Much easier than making your own.

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Arroyo Grande, CA
    Posts
    4,465
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    Iaquired a large vintage pattern plane a few years back. Sure wish the guy that built it (Unknown and scratch built) had read this thread. He drilled holes in the ribs just slightly bigger than the servo wire, wrapped the wire with masking tape at each rib and then use a generous amount of glue to hold the masking tape to the rib. Of course, I had to replace the aileron servos. I've got four plugged holes in the balsa covering.and new covering on the bottom of the wing. And guess what, I used the washer and string got get the new wires in place. There was a set of holes in the ribs he could have used.

    Don

  15. #15
    rgburrill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Trumbull, CT
    Posts
    854
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    Roll up the plans and use them - that way you will have them when you crash and have to rebuid your wing

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    York, ME
    Posts
    665
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    I roll up writing paper and with a few drops of CA the tube is done. Very little cost and easy to make.

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    York, ME
    Posts
    665
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    Not sure if a servo lead connector will pass thru a 1/4" tube.

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Lancaster, KY
    Posts
    80
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    yeah,i'll prob go the paper route.Holes are already in the wing.It seems the easiest solution.
    thanks for all the replys,Dave

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    The Dalles, OR
    Posts
    479
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    Torch welding rod comes in a light weight clear plastic tube.

    I attach it with some clear rtv silicone.

    Looks good in a plane with transparent covering.

    If you don't weld, a local metal shop might save them for you.

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Deland, FL
    Posts
    1,992
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?




    Junk mail flyer adds rolled up.

    Bob

  21. #21

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New Hartford, NY
    Posts
    392
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    That looks nice and light Charlie....clean building surface and very organized. Says a lot about your approach to the hobby by the way...very nice!

    The dowel and paper gives you a nice straight and light passage (although the washer tied to a string has been my method for years in the wing. I usually only have to swear three or four times).

    Servo wire chaffing is a big problem for me and the tubes are functional in that regard. On my 50cc Extra in the fuselage in particular the elevator servo wires are chaffing in spots where they keep hitting the formers. For that I like the flexible water line idea although they strike me as being comparatively very heavy, and I agree that probably 1/4 inch is too small to fit the connector.

    Anybody using tubes in the fuse for wire chaffing? I can get rubber grommets in a couple of the formers but I can only reach so far back towards the tail.

    Tom
    If I say "what?" she says "I'm deaf!"; if she says "what?", then she says "I mumble!".

  22. #22

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Arroyo Grande, CA
    Posts
    4,465
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    It seems that most servos in any plane over a 60" span need and extention. I've often though of hard wiring the fuselage and wings. and the cutting the servo lead to about 2", so the extention plug was right at the servo.. A change of a servo would be no more dificult than removing it or the hatch over it and unpluggin it right at the servo. You are going to have at least one extention anyway, so you wouldn't have any extra connections to worry about..

    Don

  23. #23

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Millington, MI
    Posts
    960
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    Anybody using tubes in the fuse for wire chaffing? I can get rubber grommets in a couple of the formers but I can only reach so far back towards the tail.
    I run mine inside a length of foam water/pipe insulation....weighs next to nothing.....flexible....inexpensive....FWIW

  24. #24

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Arroyo Grande, CA
    Posts
    4,465
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    I ran across this last nigh when I was looking for some small square tubes to hold my taps. http://www.mcmaster.com/#shipping-tubes/=iago5h

    Look down the page a bit at the cut to length tubes. They have the light weight polyethylene tubes 48" long in sizes from 1/4" up to 2 2/12" D. The price isn't bad either.

    Don

  25. #25
    OldScaleGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Seymour, IN
    Posts
    2,366
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: wing servo wire tubes?

    I am sure this is not the best option for a lot of guys but what i do is use the tubes only where the wing is sheeted. Otherwise i just cut small rectangular holes in each rib to pass the connectors through. Cover the bottom of the wing first, install the servo's and leads, then cover the top. If repair is required then cutting the covering on the bottom of the wing is a must. However, i do not recall ever having to replace an aileron servo or any other servo for that matter aside from a crash. Using good quality equipment and testing prior to covering helps. http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp?m=10945363
    Steve
    Hellcat Brotherhood #1
    P-47 Thunderbolt Brotherhood #5
    ​Glow Head Brotherhood #17
    Spitfire Brotherhood #144
    Full size airplanes are real, our models are too.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:24 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.