Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

Byron's Motor Mount

Reply
Old 09-26-2012, 09:03 AM
  #1
JeffH
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carrollton, VA
Posts: 2,261
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Byron's Motor Mount

Does anyone have the original style Universal Motor Mount that Byrons used on their Pitts/Eagles/ Cap 21 Glasair, etc? These are the plastic discs joined by a knurled aluminum tube, not the all aluminum mounts that the warbirds used.
I had one and sent it to a guy on here thinking I would never use it again, oops, I was wrong.

thanks
Jeff
JeffH is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 03:47 PM
  #2
Cobra1
 
Cobra1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Monrovia, MD
Posts: 580
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Byron's Motor Mount

I have the aluminum pipe and 1 unused round piece. The other round piece was cut down about half size for a g38 to mount to it I believe. If you areminterestedmlet me know by pm.
Cobra1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 05:19 AM
  #3
JeffH
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carrollton, VA
Posts: 2,261
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Byron's Motor Mount

I found one locally, thanks for looking.
JeffH is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:18 PM
  #4
DougB1
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 494
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Byron's Motor Mount


Quote:
ORIGINAL: JeffH

I found one locally, thanks for looking.
If I deceide to sell mine, what are they going for?
DougB1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:23 AM
  #5
JeffH
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carrollton, VA
Posts: 2,261
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Byron's Motor Mount

I have no idea, but the one that I did have last year, I gave to the gentleman for 10 bucks shipped. The one that I got last week was given to me for free.
JeffH is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 01:39 AM
  #6
Stickbuilder
 
Stickbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Leesburg, FL
Posts: 8,652
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Byron's Motor Mount

Jeff, I still have the mount that you sent to me. You can have it back if you need it. I have another one as well.

Bill, Waco Brother #1
Stickbuilder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:01 AM
  #7
JeffH
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carrollton, VA
Posts: 2,261
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Byron's Motor Mount

Thanks Bill, but the one I have is doing A-OK. I hope to test fly the plane that it is on this weekend.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Li21140.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	55.2 KB
ID:	1809688  
JeffH is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:30 PM
  #8
igoren
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA
Posts: 200
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Byron's Motor Mount

up to what size engine this mount can hendle . I have byron pitts special and i like to install 55 cc twin gas engine . i like to know if this mount can henle this engine.
let me know
Isaac
igoren@aol.com
igoren is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 01:30 AM
  #9
Stickbuilder
 
Stickbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Leesburg, FL
Posts: 8,652
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Byron's Motor Mount


Quote:
ORIGINAL: igoren

up to what size engine this mount can hendle . I have byron pitts special and i like to install 55 cc twin gas engine . i like to know if this mount can henle this engine.
let me know
Isaac
igoren@aol.com
The mount can handle about 10 times as much as can the airframe.

Bill, Waco Brother #1
Stickbuilder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 04:44 AM
  #10
JeffH
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carrollton, VA
Posts: 2,261
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Byron's Motor Mount

I have seen G-62s mounted on these mounts with no problems.
JeffH is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 11:41 AM
  #11
DougB1
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 494
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Byron's Motor Mount


Quote:
ORIGINAL: JeffH

I have no idea, but the one that I did have last year, I gave to the gentleman for 10 bucks shipped. The one that I got last week was given to me for free.
I would have thought they would be worth more than $10.00 [X(] I'll just keep mine, maybe down the road I can find a use for it.
DougB1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:13 AM.