Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

Do I really need 100cc in a 33% J3?

Reply
Old 10-29-2012, 08:27 AM
  #1
cwalsh
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: , FINLAND
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Do I really need 100cc in a 33% J3?

Hi,

I have a new and unflown TWM 1/3 Clipped Wing Cub, I also have an OS GT55 hanging around.

Do you think the OS will fly the plane, and have reserve for decent aerobatics? I dont need it to hover, I have a 100cc python and C-ARF's for that.

I just think putting all that power in a J3 is crazy.

Thanks,

C.
cwalsh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 08:32 AM
  #2
grbaker
 
grbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: La Porte TX
Posts: 3,390
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do I really need 100cc in a 33% J3?

I had a 30% Byron J3 Cub with a Zenoah G62 that flew the heck out of it. This cub weighed 35# dry. I'm guessing the GT55 would be OK for power.
grbaker is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:54 AM
  #3
GalenB
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 2,125
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do I really need 100cc in a 33% J3?

I agree a 100 cc is not needed for a 1/3 scale Cub... I have an AXI 5360 on 10 cells in my 1/3 scale L-4 and it flies very light...
GalenB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 10:03 AM
  #4
ROGER RUSSELL
 
ROGER RUSSELL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Jacksonville, IL
Posts: 1,316
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do I really need 100cc in a 33% J3?

My WM J3 1/3 scale CUB has a G62 for power.
I think that is a nice power combo.
Use it for hauling cameras for air to air filming and as a Glider Tow plane.
Could it use more power, depends on who you ask, I like it.

Your 55 should do just fine.

I would say half to three quarters power would be scale CUB flight.
ROGER RUSSELL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 05:50 PM
  #5
DGrant
 
DGrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 1,750
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do I really need 100cc in a 33% J3?

Heres a Nitroplanes 33% J-3.. something you might want to comapare... as the weight of the 2 planes does seem comparable.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_10..._1/key_/tm.htm
DGrant is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 07:30 AM
  #6
JeffH
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carrollton, VA
Posts: 2,263
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do I really need 100cc in a 33% J3?

I have seen 33% Cubs fly with both Quadra 35s and OS 3.00 Twin four strokes. They both flew great, and not over powered. It was a scale flight. It actually had to roll for takeoff and dive for loops. An OS 55 would be grreat.
JeffH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 06:19 AM
  #7
flygilmore
 
flygilmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dublin, VA
Posts: 1,162
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do I really need 100cc in a 33% J3?

should be perfect.......no need for 100cc at all unless you just happen to have an unused one laying around.
flygilmore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 06:45 AM
  #8
invertmast
 
invertmast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North Port, Fl
Posts: 7,649
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Do I really need 100cc in a 33% J3?

Bunch of guys at my field fly them with Da50's, G23, G38, G45, G62's.

They will pretty much fly on any decently sized motor. Granted the smaller engined plans are sllllooooowwwww. And light
invertmast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:38 AM.