Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Dane, WI
    Posts
    4
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    FUTABA R6014HS vs R6014FS

    Iam curious if anyone can tell me what the difference is between these two FUTABA receivers besides age? Can Iuse them together as a redundency?
    Any thoughts would be apreciated.

  2. #2
    All Day Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
    Posts
    3,396
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: FUTABA R6014HS vs R6014FS

    Try these guys first for the most accurate answer. Dan.
    support@futaba-rc.com
    Dan

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Dane, WI
    Posts
    4
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: FUTABA R6014HS vs R6014FS

    Thanks, I will do that. Why didn't I think of that?  Duh... 

  4. #4
    All Day Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
    Posts
    3,396
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: FUTABA R6014HS vs R6014FS

    Thanks for the thanks. I have the same problem. Dan.
    Dan

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Dane, WI
    Posts
    4
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: FUTABA R6014HS vs R6014FS

    So here is the official response from FUTABA:



    Yes, these will work fine together in the same airplane.
    The R6014FS was updated to the R6014HS which is a higher speed response.

    Just in case anyone else has the same question as me.

    Dave  [8D]


  6. #6
    Zeeb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Highland Utah UT
    Posts
    3,668
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: FUTABA R6014HS vs R6014FS

    Hmm.....

    I THINK maybe you'd better wait for one of the Futaba users who is more knowledgable on these things or go hit the FG forum and see what you get from the GS Futaba users?

    Here's what I think I know; the 6014FS came out with low signal voltage as well as a lower operating voltage to cut some of the heat out of the rx, which meant it wouldn't work a Hitec servo. Futaba has done this to Hitec before and Hitec adjusted the signal current required. Then the 6014FS rx's started failing due to heat, especially in the warmer climates in the summer or applications where the model had pipes or cans.

    Then Futaba came out with a 6014FS with a white dot on the side, it has different hardware and a higher signal current and supposedly isn't as susceptible to heat issues. Then they came out with a 6014FS with a gold dot on the side of the case. It has different hardware again and supposedly all the heat issues were resolved, then as Futaba is prone to do (case in point is the 5014 rx which was having problems and they release the 5114 with the fixes but nothing for the then current 5014 users), they then released the 6014HS which I believe again has different hardware and they claim it's a higher speed rx, I cannot comment on that as I don't have any idea if that's true or not.

    If you look back in the Futaba support forum on this question, Bax has indicated that the older rx's CANNOT be upgraded which is pretty much true of all the manufacturers. I'm not a Futaba user anymore but if I were going to double up on the rx's for redundancy, I would be using identical rx's regardless of who made my radio system.
    Zeeb

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Dane, WI
    Posts
    4
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: FUTABA R6014HS vs R6014FS

    Good info. Thanks for the reply.  I agree with you, I don't feel comfotable running two different receivers. I think I will obtain another new one...

    Dave


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:16 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.