Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

FUTABA R6014HS vs R6014FS

Reply
Old 12-18-2012, 08:57 AM
  #1
dbecker2
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dane, WI
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default FUTABA R6014HS vs R6014FS

Iam curious if anyone can tell me what the difference is between these two FUTABA receivers besides age? Can Iuse them together as a redundency?
Any thoughts would be apreciated.
dbecker2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 09:16 AM
  #2
All Day Dan
 
All Day Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
Posts: 4,400
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA R6014HS vs R6014FS

Try these guys first for the most accurate answer. Dan.
support@futaba-rc.com
All Day Dan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 09:20 AM
  #3
dbecker2
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dane, WI
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA R6014HS vs R6014FS

Thanks, I will do that. Why didn't I think of that?  Duh... 
dbecker2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 11:24 AM
  #4
All Day Dan
 
All Day Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
Posts: 4,400
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA R6014HS vs R6014FS

Thanks for the thanks. I have the same problem. Dan.
All Day Dan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 01:55 PM
  #5
dbecker2
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dane, WI
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA R6014HS vs R6014FS

So here is the official response from FUTABA:



Yes, these will work fine together in the same airplane.
The R6014FS was updated to the R6014HS which is a higher speed response.

Just in case anyone else has the same question as me.

Dave  [8D]

dbecker2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 06:21 AM
  #6
Zeeb
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland Utah UT
Posts: 4,697
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA R6014HS vs R6014FS

Hmm.....

I THINK maybe you'd better wait for one of the Futaba users who is more knowledgable on these things or go hit the FG forum and see what you get from the GS Futaba users?

Here's what I think I know; the 6014FS came out with low signal voltage as well as a lower operating voltage to cut some of the heat out of the rx, which meant it wouldn't work a Hitec servo. Futaba has done this to Hitec before and Hitec adjusted the signal current required. Then the 6014FS rx's started failing due to heat, especially in the warmer climates in the summer or applications where the model had pipes or cans.

Then Futaba came out with a 6014FS with a white dot on the side, it has different hardware and a higher signal current and supposedly isn't as susceptible to heat issues. Then they came out with a 6014FS with a gold dot on the side of the case. It has different hardware again and supposedly all the heat issues were resolved, then as Futaba is prone to do (case in point is the 5014 rx which was having problems and they release the 5114 with the fixes but nothing for the then current 5014 users), they then released the 6014HS which I believe again has different hardware and they claim it's a higher speed rx, I cannot comment on that as I don't have any idea if that's true or not.

If you look back in the Futaba support forum on this question, Bax has indicated that the older rx's CANNOT be upgraded which is pretty much true of all the manufacturers. I'm not a Futaba user anymore but if I were going to double up on the rx's for redundancy, I would be using identical rx's regardless of who made my radio system.
Zeeb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 05:01 PM
  #7
dbecker2
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dane, WI
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: FUTABA R6014HS vs R6014FS

Good info. Thanks for the reply.  I agree with you, I don't feel comfotable running two different receivers. I think I will obtain another new one...

Dave
dbecker2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:12 PM.