Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 16 of 16

  1. #1
    Kmot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Northridge, CA
    Posts
    10,866
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Would you install your elevator servos in balsa?

    I'm a bit perplexed right now. [&:]

    I am assembling a VQ giant scale Fly Baby. After cutting out the covering for the horizontal stab, I was able to see inside the fuselage. There are areas cut out of the wood for mounting the elevator servos. Only thing is, it looks like just plain ol' balsa wood to me. [X(]

    Personally, I would not install servos in balsa sheet on even a park flyer. But maybe my thinking is flawed......

    What's you guys opinions?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Xu62746.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	50.0 KB 
ID:	1833587  
    ~Tom~

  2. #2
    foodstick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    ankeny, IA
    Posts
    4,355
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Would you install your elevator servos in balsa?

    Servo screws into ply of some type is my rule... Can you cut some small rectangles of ply and glue to the balsa area? Sometimes it needs to go behind the existing mounting surface so the servo will sit down inside flush..

  3. #3
    Kmot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Northridge, CA
    Posts
    10,866
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Would you install your elevator servos in balsa?

    I agree with you foodstick. Needs ply at a minimum. I will be able to do something, not sure what yet. I can reach inside with a tool to place pieces of plywood. Just seems so strange to me. I am wondering if it is not balsa, but some sort of Viet Nam jungle wood that has the look of balsa. Tomorrow when it's light outside I am going to poke it from the inside with an Xacto. I suppose I should have done that already. It just really threw me for a curve.
    ~Tom~

  4. #4
    rafeeki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    St John, IN
    Posts
    333
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Would you install your elevator servos in balsa?

    If u cannot get another layer of thin plywood under it u could pour some thin CA on the balsa wood surface, this will harden it thereby make it stronger.

    Rafeek
    "KISS" is my moto (keep it simple silly)
    CUB Brotherhood #008

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Spring Hill, FL
    Posts
    247
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Would you install your elevator servos in balsa?

    Screw them into ply or else you'll regret it, guaranteed.

  6. #6
    Kmot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Northridge, CA
    Posts
    10,866
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Would you install your elevator servos in balsa?

    Yeah, I hear ya!
    ~Tom~

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    773
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Would you install your elevator servos in balsa?

    Into ply or it don't fly........

    Jerry Neuberger
    L1324, HoF, LM, CD, Turbine sign-off CD, LMAI

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Athens, GREECE
    Posts
    84
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Would you install your elevator servos in balsa?

    You should be able to glue plywood reinforcements internally on the balsa through the hole intended for the servo.
    If it is impossible to access the servo mount from behind for reinforcement and if the balsa is thick enough. What I have done with good result in the past is to enlarge the holes in the balsa to about 6mm (1/4 inch).
    Then I have cut lengths of hardwood dowels and glued then in the enlarged holes, flush with the outside surface. New holes were drilled in the dowels for the servo screws, add a few drops of thin CA in the hole and all this becomes like concrete.


    mike
    Nothing is foolproof because fools are so ingenious.

  9. #9
    Kmot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Northridge, CA
    Posts
    10,866
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Would you install your elevator servos in balsa?

    Thanks guys.

    And Mike, that's a great tip!
    ~Tom~

  10. #10
    foodstick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    ankeny, IA
    Posts
    4,355
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Would you install your elevator servos in balsa?

    you need some forceps with a angled head, tape the ply piece to the forcep, apply glue to the upper face ..slide it in ,position it and gently clamp it with the forcep.. Also a small clamp will work in many cases as well.

  11. #11
    Kmot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Northridge, CA
    Posts
    10,866
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Would you install your elevator servos in balsa?

    Now that it is daylight again and I had all my worklights on I took another look inside, and poked it with my Xacto knife. It's definitely balsa wood that I am looking at.

    However, epoxyearl (from another thread) was spot on about it possibly being "balsa plywood" because in a cutout below I can see the thin ply sandwiched between two thin sheets of balsa wood.

    I will reinforce it though to be safe.

    Thanks guys!
    ~Tom~

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    pikesville , MD
    Posts
    418
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Would you install your elevator servos in balsa?

    It's good you saw that before you put the stab on, now it will be easy to reinforce the servo area with plywood or base wood. Better safe than sorry
    I don\'\'\'\'t always crash, but when I do!

  13. #13
    Airplanes400's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,610
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Would you install your elevator servos in balsa?

    ORIGINAL: Kmot

    I'm a bit perplexed right now. [&:]

    I am assembling a VQ giant scale Fly Baby. After cutting out the covering for the horizontal stab, I was able to see inside the fuselage. There are areas cut out of the wood for mounting the elevator servos. Only thing is, it looks like just plain ol' balsa wood to me. [X(]

    Personally, I would not install servos in balsa sheet on even a park flyer. But maybe my thinking is flawed......

    What's you guys opinions?
    And that's only one structural flaw that you can see. Check the rest of the plane for other questionable design flaws like this.
    We in the Federal Government have no sense of humor that we are aware of.

  14. #14
    vertical grimmace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ft collins , CO
    Posts
    5,687
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Would you install your elevator servos in balsa?

    Imagine how many issues like this go by the wayside by the inexperienced ARF assembler? Kinda scary really.
    \"let\'\'\'\'s just say, they will be satisfied with less\" Ming the Merciless

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    surrey, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    3,756
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Would you install your elevator servos in balsa?

    all good advice above

  16. #16
    Kmot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Northridge, CA
    Posts
    10,866
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Would you install your elevator servos in balsa?

    Thanks everyone!
    ~Tom~


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.