Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - General
Reload this Page >

Do we not like aluminum scale planes?

Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

Do we not like aluminum scale planes?

Old 04-06-2014, 11:15 AM
Kentli22

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

To me a scale aluminum plane is more scale than wood because a real plane is build out of metal. Aluminum vs. wood is like wood vs. epo. Of course I'm relatively new to this hobby, people who know better may think otherwise. I think as long as the size is not too small, the wing loading is not an issue. the fabrication technique is not an issue, the cost of material is not an issue, so why no manufacturer making them? If everything is being equal, would people buy them as much as the wooden models? It would be nice if those in this industry can share their professional point of view.
Old 04-06-2014, 11:37 AM
BobH
My Feedback: (2)

Received 21 Likes on 21 Posts

As you said you are "new". I make come components for the Scale industry so I a little bit about the industry. Firstly all things are not equal.
Cost of production will certainly increase if the plane is all metal. More parts will be needed. Per material aluminum isn't as strong as balsa ounce per ounce. Weight will increase per plane hence larger engines will be needed. Labor cost will increase due to the increase parts list.
You are welcome to produce an all metal plane and see how it sells. Perhaps set an example for others?
The market place typically determines what's best for it.. so far after all these any years metal hasn't done that.. just my Opinion
Old 04-09-2014, 08:24 AM
Bax
My Feedback: (11)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts