Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - General
Reload this Page >

Super Tigre S3000 won't flip start. Only with starter

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

Super Tigre S3000 won't flip start. Only with starter

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2017, 08:51 PM
Stiltman0287

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Super Tigre S3000 won't flip start. Only with starter

Hey guys. I'm new to RC Universe. I have a Super Tigre S3000 that runs great, but just won't flip start to save it's life. I've tried and tried before til my arm was tired (probably almost 20 mins of flipping), and then hook up the 120v electric drill with my homemade drill starter bit, and BOOM, it starts right up. Sometimes after 5 seconds or so of cranking, sometimes immediately. I would love to be able to hand start it if there is any way of doing it that I haven't tried cus the electric drill isn't mobile, although I do have a good inverter. Still an inverter is no good if you can't bring your truck to the water lol. I have tried all the suggestions on flip starting, including the priming til the squish sound, bouncing the prop backwards, choking, etc. Maybe my low end adjustment is off? It seems to have good compression. Everyone else seems to have no problem flipping their Super Tigre 3000 so any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks
Old 05-03-2017, 01:49 PM
do335a

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts

I've had several of the large ST engines - 2500 & 3000 with never a starting problem.

Although they run better on the OS 7D carb than the stock ST carb. that has not been an issue for starting. And in all cases my starter is attached to my arm.

You'll also find that the reverse flip method is very safe and reliable. As the engine fires, the prop and your hand are moving away from each other. You also draw you hand out of the prop disc as you do this.