Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

Pull pull setup question

Reply
Old 08-11-2017, 02:49 PM
  #1
Fulcrum2111
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 195
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Pull pull setup question

Hello I have setup my 30cc beaver with the rudder and tailwheel cables to the servo using a pull pull setup. I have crimped the cables without the classic outer loop, the first flights the cable seems hold the tension well is there any problem going this way?

Last edited by Fulcrum2111; 08-11-2017 at 03:39 PM.
Fulcrum2111 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 04:17 PM
  #2
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It will be fine
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 07:20 PM
  #3
speedracerntrixie
 
speedracerntrixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 5,560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

If the cables are nylon coated you can add a drop of medium CA into the crimp for a little added security.
speedracerntrixie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 03:54 AM
  #4
RCFlyerDan
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cape Coral
Posts: 1,212
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

If this is your first time using pull-pull, don't be surprised that the cables will loosen, due to stretching. Great way for controls. For the next one or if you ever replace these lines, just as a suggestion, hang some weight with the pull-pull wire for about a week to pre-stretch it. I used to use 5-10 pound lifting bar weights. I have actually used pull-pull on both elevators too on one plane. Worked very well.
RCFlyerDan is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2017, 11:48 AM
  #5
ma_mulcahy
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Milan, IN
Posts: 217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Just curious as I fly year-round. Do you ever have any problems in the cold with wires contracting too much and causing problems?
ma_mulcahy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 05:41 AM
  #6
VincentJ
 
VincentJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Peterborough, NH
Posts: 3,242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Having flown in the cold winter months in NH, I have not experienced any problems with pull/pull set-ups in my planes.
VincentJ is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 09:56 AM
  #7
Stickbuilder
 
Stickbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Leesburg, FL
Posts: 8,667
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Iíve used pull-pull on all surfaces on a few planes to keep from having non scale hardware visible. Iíve never had a failure with that setup.

Bill, Waco Brother #1
Stickbuilder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:44 AM.