Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

Fokker triplane rudder throw?

Reply
Old 08-29-2017, 06:26 PM
  #1
vertical grimmace
Thread Starter
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,158
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Fokker triplane rudder throw?

After reading the article in the current AMA mag about taking off, it got me thinking about my 1/4 scale triplane. It is a bear on the ground on take offs. I had full rudder travel and high expo. The article recommends against just that.
So I am going to try dual rates with lower rate on take off, and no expo, then switched to higher rates while flying. I am wondering how you Fokker triplane pilots set up your rudder in the radio?
vertical grimmace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 12:47 PM
  #2
rgburrill
 
rgburrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Trumbull, CT
Posts: 1,860
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Not a Fokker but my taildraggers had dual rate rudders with high expo to reduce the sensitivity of stick movement near the center point.
rgburrill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 03:59 PM
  #3
foodstick
 
foodstick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ankeny, IA
Posts: 5,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Honestly vertical I have always set up my WW1 with LOTS of throw and used expo to soften it up in the middle.
foodstick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 04:13 PM
  #4
vertical grimmace
Thread Starter
 
vertical grimmace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: ft collins , CO
Posts: 7,158
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yeah, that is how I always did it. My memory seems to be telling me though that I had less trouble with my 1st triplane before I used expo. It has been a long time though (12 years) So I am going to try it again without. The point is to not have so much throw that you do not get into trouble in the first place.
vertical grimmace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2017, 10:23 AM
  #5
BobH
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Springfield, VA,
Posts: 7,704
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I use Expo on the elevators but not on the rudder.
Personally I'd get a gyro and be done with it lol. I know that's caving into technology but that's ok at times.
I read the same article and it makes sense.
BobH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 02:01 PM
  #6
WinterHawke
 
WinterHawke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 550
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I'm not a fan of expo, myself, but that's something of a personal taste, and your mileage may vary.

I set rudder on most WWI's, including the triplane, for a fair amount of throw (not hard against the stop).

I think technique is critical on short coupled taildraggers, and one of the things I do on take-off is to "stab" at the rudder the moment I detect a drift, immediately letting it go back toward neutral. Watching videos of the full-scale replicas shows much the same technique. It's kind of a dance, really, on the rudder bar - tap and release, and repeat as necessary until flying speed is reached.

The big mistake I see a lot is folks hit and holding rudder too long - after begging the plane to turn that much, it's gonna oblige!!

Best regards,

Lee McD
WinterHawke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:33 AM.