Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - General
Reload this Page >

Topflight gs p51 mustang —. been out of the hobby for awhile

Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

Topflight gs p51 mustang —. been out of the hobby for awhile

Reply

Old 08-30-2018, 06:33 PM
  #1  
Robbie76
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 5
Default Topflight gs p51 mustang —. been out of the hobby for awhile

So i couldnt pass up a great deal on this warbird arc kit — spent many hours on this forum and youtube getting tips and ideas - i started glassing it wanting realistic look - ill be using a da50 engine and trying to figure the best radio to get and servos - any tips or suggestions greatly appreciated
Robbie76 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 05:22 AM
  #2  
Appowner
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

How long have you been out of the hobby?
What were you flying then?
What are you flying now?

A P-51 is NOT the best way to get back into this hobby. Strongly suggest that while building it you get an advanced trainer and get a lot of stick time in.
Appowner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 06:34 AM
  #3  
Robbie76
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 5
Default

I understand that and of course ill be getting a good sized trainer — believe me ive read all about it and talked to few that have giant scales as well — the main thing thing is im enjoying this thing building it — and its been almost ten years and i know i need stick time — im just looking for more building tips advice etcetc — we have a great rc airfield here in colorado springs with helpful people to get me up to par so im not worried about that
Robbie76 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2018, 05:57 AM
  #4  
Appowner
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

OK. I just wanted to make sure you weren't jumping into the deep end with weights on your ankles.

Radios? My preference is Spektrum or Futaba. Problem there is they are not compatible with each other. i.e. the Futaba Rx will NOT work with the Spektrum Tx and vice versa. There's an Asian knock off called FrSky which I think of as a Spektrum clone. Lower price, lots of features and rave reviews. I don't have one but you see people rave about them all the time.

Those are the TX/Rx combos I'd trust or at least try with reasonable confidence. I'd also suggest seeing what the local club prefers.

There seems to be a multitude of Asian clones now with dubious reputations. 'Orange" and 'Lemon' are two that come to mind. Some rave about them but I'd stay clear of them for now. You don't need to add the possibility of cheap junk to the learning process.

Servos are pretty much all interchangeable. However, there are the old analog type and the new digital type. Some digital are programmable through some means be it your PC, the TX or another device/tool you'll need to buy. Keep in mind a Futaba programmable servo must be programmed by a Futaba Tx. While you can use the servo with a Spektrum radio, you can't program it with the Spektrum Tx. Hence the ability to use your PC or some other tool. I tend to stick to analog servos except for the odd helicopter. Helicopters do benefit from digital servos.

There are also standard voltage and high voltage servos. The trick here is if you use a high voltage servo you either need a separate power source for it or a receiver that will handle the higher voltage. Most Rx I believe do not. I stick with Futaba or Hitec servos. There are much higher priced and I assume better quality servos out there but, my servo needs are pretty basic so I stick with what has proven themselves to me. I usually shop for servos at Servo City. Servo City Link They list all the specs so you can make a really informed decision.

Hope this all helps. I'll PM you with some more info.
Appowner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2018, 08:56 AM
  #5  
Robbie76
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 5
Default

Im pulling my hi tec servos from my 3d plane — which originally had the da 50 in it — all metal gear hi torque servos— i found a futaba system here 14sg so ill be going with that
Robbie76 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 05:28 AM
  #6  
Appowner
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Robbie76 View Post
Im pulling my hi tec servos from my 3d plane — which originally had the da 50 in it — all metal gear hi torque servos— i found a futaba system here 14sg so ill be going with that
Sounds like a good choice. BTW, if desired you can have it serviced and checked out at Radio South. However current industry conditions with the demise of Hobbico, Futaba parts are currently hard to get. Futaba is setting up their US service center in Huntsville, Al which will eventually correct the parts issue but for now..... You might also be able to get it serviced there. As for new batteries and such, there are a couple of 3rd party places that offer that sort of thing. Servo City I believe can supply batteries for radios. For radios I like to stick with Nicads or NiMh. Proven technology and I have yet to hear of one starting a fire.
Appowner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 07:00 AM
  #7  
Lee Taylor
 
Lee Taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Charleston , SC
Posts: 147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Red face

Originally Posted by Robbie76 View Post
I understand that and of course ill be getting a good sized trainer — believe me ive read all about it
Perfect! ... Consider purchasing a simulator also. A buddy box at the field (if they still make them) and/or have a very experienced pilot to hand the receiver to when you get in trouble. And believe me... you will get in trouble and you will hit the ground. I have 20 or so solo flights at the field and 30+ on my sim. I still occasionally hit the ground.

The good news... flying a 1/4 scale (sbach, extra, yak) at 40-50 mph airspeed is much easier than a .60 size screamer at 70+ mph

I remember my poor ol Senior Falcon trainer got repaired many times. Now days I make a point to mentally bring it to my personal attention when I become disoriented for one moment. I am fairly good at landing under power. It will not be long before I start practicing the dreaded dead stick landings
Lee Taylor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 07:15 AM
  #8  
Lee Taylor
 
Lee Taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Charleston , SC
Posts: 147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Just for you Robbie

Lee Taylor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 02:58 PM
  #9  
Robbie76
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 5
Default

Good deal right now im trying to figure my firewall distance from spinner back plate to the wall using my da50— gs tooflight p51 — i wanna be sure as ive read 7 7/8inches but i wanna be sure — if any advice thanx or pics
Robbie76 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 04:40 PM
  #10  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,813
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The manual says 7-1/2" to 7-3/4", I'd pop the cowl off mine and measure and take pics for you, but have a glue up one the work bench right now
scale only 4 me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 04:44 PM
  #11  
Lee Taylor
 
Lee Taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Charleston , SC
Posts: 147
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Why don't you build the plane and then mount the engine accordingly? I have always been able to move my engine forwards and backwards a bit before major surgery is needed
Lee Taylor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 04:57 PM
  #12  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,813
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Lee Taylor View Post
Why don't you build the plane and then mount the engine accordingly? I have always been able to move my engine forwards and backwards a bit before major surgery is needed
He's asking about an ARC model,, the planes is already built Firewall epoxied in,,,, just need to adjust the stand off spacing to the right length for the proper distance
scale only 4 me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 07:51 AM
  #13  
Robbie76
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 5
Default

Correct as im trying to find the correct spacing from back of spinner to wall — gs topflight p51 arc — using a da50
Robbie76 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 10:51 AM
  #14  
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,813
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Not sure what you mean by "correct", if you mean the correct scale location,, that would be difficult to determine,,

as I said before the manual says mount within a range of 7-1/2" to 7-3/4"

good luck
scale only 4 me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 02:29 PM
  #15  
Appowner
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 159
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Robbie76 View Post
Correct as im trying to find the correct spacing from back of spinner to wall — gs topflight p51 arc — using a da50
The prop and spinner need to clear the front of the cowl by 1/16 -1/8 inch. Position your engine accordingly. Any space remaining between the engine mounts and the firewall needs to be taken up by a standoff of some kind. Be they 4 aluminum standoffs or a simple plywood box. The space needs to be filled.
Appowner is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service