Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - General
Reload this Page >

Flair 1/4 Scale PT-17 Stearman Review

Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

Flair 1/4 Scale PT-17 Stearman Review

Old 12-02-2003, 07:23 PM
Cybertom

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flair 1/4 Scale PT-17 Stearman Review

There is a lot of hoopla about this kit since it has now received several positive reviews from major publications. I am a rookie at building 1/4th scale aircraft. The biggest airplane I ever assembled before this one was the Great Planes Tiger Moth ARF. Everything before that was Guillows Kits as a teenager.

I'm a computer guy now but I have an engineering background. I hang out with nerds who do stuff like Finite Element Analysis for a living. I wanted to build something spectacular over the winter and gave it my best shot.

I was going to build the Flair Tiger Moth but my wife said that !QUOT!You already have one of those, why don't you build this one!QUOT!. I said OK, and that's how it started.

I started researching this aircraft and purchased !QUOT!The Pictorial History of Stearmans!QUOT!. I decided to build a NAVY Stearman because there are a lot of neat color schemes to choose from.

I bought a Saito 5-Cylinder engine for my Stearman. I broke it in and was trying to figure out how I was going to make an exhaust collector ring when I became disenchanted with it. The more work I put into the model, the more I felt that it deserved better than a very non-scale 5-cylinder engine. I justified buying the Robart on the reputation of the company, and the fact that it is probably the most scale 7-cylinder glow engine made. It's made in the USA and I was willing to put my money where my mouth was and buy American.