Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

GP Giant Big Stik, good first giant/gasser?

Hey guys I am a pretty good pilot just wanting to go bigger and first time with a gasser, is this a good choice?
    I bought a motor without a plane for it. I bought a plane without a motor for it...What has this hobby done to me?

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: GP Giant Big Stik, good first giant/gasser?

This is exactly what I did when I moved into gas two years ago. Used the Fuji 32BT engine and it was a "bolt and go" installation as all of the engine mounting stuff was included
    with the aircraft along with specific instructions. Moved the battery packs to just behind the trailing edge of the wing for balance so I didn't have to add any dead weight. I am
    still flying this combo and it is a joy to fly. No cowl and everything being right out in the open is nice for a first gas airplane. If you get this combo (or use another gas engine) you can move the fuel tank back to mid-fuse position over the CG and not have it hidden in the nose.

You might get some "flak" about using the Fuji from some but my personal experience is that it is an excellent engine for this aircraft. Neither over nor under powered, balances without any hassle and the engine has run perfectly for me for two years. There are two other Fuji 32BT's in my club and one more in another club and they all perform without any problems that I am aware of.

This combo is about as simple as you can get for a first move into gas airplanes and still have something that will allow you to do a lot of "stuff". Nothing like a stick.

Dan
    Dan Taylor
    American Turf Flyers, Inc.
    Broken Arrow, OK
    (Somewhere near Tulsa)