Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - General Discuss all other giant scale aircraft here.

ign causing failsafe

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2009, 07:22 AM
wind junkie
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ign causing failsafe

I'd like some help if this sounds familiar to anyone. I posted this on FG in the 2.4 section also but wanted to try here in the general forum.

I've been flying my TBM P40 with a DA 85 for a few months now. About 3 weeks ago, I had what I thought was an engine problem when the motor would cut out at some speeds usually downlines. It was consistient. Then the problem got worse and I noticed that it was not the motor's fault because I would watch the throttle servo go to idle when I'm just running up in the pits an obvious failsafe condition.

Range checks WITHOUT motor running are good. Today I switched to a new RX and even switched to a different TX, and all have the problem. I changed to a new throttle servo also. Range check with motor running is VERY BAD it goes to idle immediately and I can see the failsafe trying to activate at most throttle speeds when I'm standing right over the airplane (it pulses for a half second or so and makes the motor sound like it's hesitating, but really it's just the throttle commanding it). This will happen with me simply holding the RX in my hand (either RX) with only the throttle hooked up, and with either of two TX's I am using for test.

Perhaps I may have put some stress on the spark plug wire in fishing it through the hole in the cowl in the past month? Are the spark plug wires fragile? Someone told me that if there was arcing inside with a broken "carbon wire" in that area it could give interference. I think he was talking from automotive experince.