Glow to Electric Conversions Discuss glow/gas conversion to electric here.

1/2A glow Mustang to electric convertion help

Old 09-12-2011, 04:17 PM
kenh3497

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 1/2A glow Mustang to electric convertion help

I have an old House of Balsa (I think) 1/2 A Mustang I would like to convert to electric. I'm having a lot of trouble wrapping my head around all the numbers as I'm an old nitro pilot from way back before there was even the thought of electric. I understand XXX watts per pound but am having trouble with "KV" ratings. I know higher KV + higher RPM. Do I want to duplicate the TD.051 rpm range and prop or.......... something else. I'm not looking for extreme speed just "sprightly" performance, in character with a Mustang.

After removing all the glow "stuff" and sanding off the two or three coats of K&B epoxy paint I have a bare airframe that weighs about 10 1/2 ounces. I need to fix the elevator and may just replace the complete tail assembly with new light wood as the old stuff has to come off anyway as the control horn is internal. I expect to add back about 1 to 1 1/2 ounces with paint again.

What should I look for in a motor? Any suggestions as to a motor to use? I wish to learn from this so if you make a suggestion, I would like your thought process on how you came to that conclusion. Oh, I suppose the battery and ESC figure into the equation also. Venting the fuse should not be a problem.

Thanks!

Ken
Old 09-30-2011, 04:33 PM
M-Blaster

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 1/2A glow Mustang to electric convertion help