Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Glow to Electric Conversions
Reload this Page >

Newbie to Electric Conversions - TACON 160 Monster Motor question

Community
Search
Notices
Glow to Electric Conversions Discuss glow/gas conversion to electric here.

Newbie to Electric Conversions - TACON 160 Monster Motor question

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2012, 04:45 AM
dakoris73

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie to Electric Conversions - TACON 160 Monster Motor question

Hello there;

I've been flying Nitro gas planes for the last 4 years now, and am looking to convert an older Nitro Pattern plane into an electric pattern plane, but have been running into a quandry of questions. So I thought that I would ask here to see if I can get some assistance with this.

Despite the challenges of cutting the canopy and motor mount, what I am wondering is if anyone's had any experience with a TACON line of motors. I've recently been given a TACON Monster 160 Electric brushless motor (http://www.hobbypartz.com/96m608-big...335-245kv.html) , and was wondering if anyone's had any experience with this motor. I wasn't able to locate much information on this motor, and I'm wondering if this motor will fly an 11lb pattern plane effectively.

I'm open to any and all information that anyone can offer regarding this motor, or about this conversion I'm about to undertake.

Thanks,
Mikey

Old 03-01-2012, 08:45 AM
80sPattern

Default RE: Newbie to Electric Conversions - TACON 160 Monster Motor question

Dont know anything about Tacon motors.

If your converting an "older Nitro pattern plane" I doubt you have the prop clearance for the 18" or 19" prop that motor wants to swing. Older pattern models could mean a lot of things. If it is a Classic Pattern Plane from the 1980's then you might have room for up to a 13" or 14" prop. Therefore you will need a motor with a higher KV.

See this thread for my attempt at converting a Classic Pattern plane.