Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Glow to Electric Conversions
Reload this Page >

Electric newbie - sorry for asking such basic questions

Community
Search
Notices
Glow to Electric Conversions Discuss glow/gas conversion to electric here.

Electric newbie - sorry for asking such basic questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2012, 10:02 AM
Scratchie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Electric newbie - sorry for asking such basic questions

I’m finalizing a decision for my next build. What I’m looking at is a 15-18lb (hopfully closer to 14lbs), twin engine, 92”ws, A-20 Havoc/Boston (Dan Palmer) rated for two, 0.91 glow engines.The plane will be a scale project rather than an everyday flyer.I have no experience with electrics, but they seem to be the most reliable and least “fussy” set up. Over the course of the build I’ll educate myself to the world of electrics.My questions are:
1. Are there electric engines that can match the power a 0.91 glow?
2. How does the physical size of the electric motor compare to the glow?
3. How will total weight of the electric setup (motor, speed controller, battery) compare to the weight of a 0.91 glow engine (muffler, gas tank, servo)?
4. Would an electric setup cost more, less, or about the same as glow?

5. Idon't see a significant downside to going electric here, are there additional considerations Ishould be aware of?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq46119.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	21.8 KB
ID:	1750663  
Old 04-15-2012, 11:33 AM
blvdbuzzard

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Electric newbie - sorry for asking such basic questions

Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, and maybe.

Yes the electric motor will match a 91fs engine with ease. On the plus side, you could run scale 3 or 4 blade props with the "E" power.