Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Glow to Electric Conversions
Reload this Page >

RC Guys Cessna 150 Aerobat Gas to Electric Conversion

Notices
Glow to Electric Conversions Discuss glow/gas conversion to electric here.

RC Guys Cessna 150 Aerobat Gas to Electric Conversion

Old 07-21-2013, 06:20 PM
clandestoy
My Feedback: (112)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RC Guys Cessna 150 Aerobat Gas to Electric Conversion

Hello, I am new to the electric side of RC and I think a little introduction is in order. Having always flown glow and gas engines, I have recently discovered the performance and benefits of flying electrics. It started with a used Mini Funtana that I traded for to be able to fly during my lunch hour. It was small, easy to fly, and required no liquid fuel or support equipment to carry around in my truck.

Greatly impressed by this little powerhouse, I recently acquired a Pacific Aero Models Clipped Wing Monocoupe already set up with an Eflite 160, a Castle Creations Ice2 HV160, and running 10S. This setup has impressive power and really flies that plane with plenty of punch to do almost any maneuver you can throw at it, vertical is almost unlimited. This is now my favorite plane to fly!

Having been electrified by this new "ride", I have an RC Guys Cessna with a Zenoah G26 that I want to convert to electric. I have searched the electrics forums but cannot find any threads on a conversion of that plane. I am thinking about using the same exact setup as the one I have in the Monocoupe, but I am not sure if this will be enough power to give the Aerobat spirited performance. I have attached a picture of it for reference.