Glow to Electric Conversions Discuss glow/gas conversion to electric here.

New build Great Planes P-51D electric setup

Reply

Old 10-11-2013, 06:26 AM
  #1  
bluepilot2003
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (30)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default New build Great Planes P-51D electric setup

I am going to start building this in a couple of weeks. I am looking for affirmation of a good setup this is the .40 sized kit version. Other than few mods below, what else should I be considering?
-building a hatch on the front top between the firewall and canopy for quick battery access
- putting holes in firewall and bottom of fuselage for airflow though not exactly sure where best locations for them would be
-Rimfire .55 using plastic standoffs
-5s 4000mah Nano-tech 35-70c lipos (already have them)
-CC Talon 90 esc
-16x8 or 16x10 prop (ecalc and realflight both like these props for very good performance) what do you think?

If this setup is questionable at all, give me some good alternatives/suggestions please
this is my second attempt at using electric power on a kit built plane. First was a little disaster using a Rimfire .60 on a GP Super Decathlon where I ripped the firewall off the plane 3 times while just running up the motor to test it, and it was EXTREMELY heavy (8.5 lbs) using Turnigy 6s 5000s. It did fly about 10 times but was very hard to land well and it landed extremely fast. I also didn't make holes for cooling so the motor was always very hot. Looking to avoid the same issues I had with the first attempt with this kit!
bluepilot2003 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 04:03 PM
  #2  
catspaw
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: stoughton, WI,
Posts: 115
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

do you have the clearance for such a large prop for a 40 size plane?
catspaw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 05:34 PM
  #3  
blvdbuzzard
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: high deserts, CA
Posts: 3,701
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have this setup in a 46 sized plane and it hauls mule.

Motor
http://www.hobbypartz.com/96m605-big...020-670kv.html

ESC
http://www.hobbypartz.com/07e06-proton-60a.html

Battery, I use the 4000mah but it is out of stock.
http://www.hobbypartz.com/98p-25c-3800-5s1p.html

I use a 12X6 ro 13X6 APC "E" prop.

Buzz.
blvdbuzzard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 08:08 PM
  #4  
bluepilot2003
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (30)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the replies. I thought about prop clearance and wasn't sure if it would be a problem. Thanks for the alternate setup as well! Looks to be quite a bit cheaper and will help with prop clearance as well.
bluepilot2003 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 08:02 AM
  #5  
oldbassard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kiefer, OK
Posts: 232
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hey, I do appreciate you writing the information here that you have about the motor. You seem to have experience with the out runners, so is Turnigy a top of the line brand of motor? I am building from just plans for the first time and I want top rate equipment in this plane. It's a special build to me.
oldbassard is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service