Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Glow to Electric Conversions
Reload this Page >

Herr Piper Cherokee GLO TO ELECTRIC

Community
Search
Notices
Glow to Electric Conversions Discuss glow/gas conversion to electric here.

Herr Piper Cherokee GLO TO ELECTRIC

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2004, 03:26 PM
rings
My Feedback: (7)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Herr Piper Cherokee GLO TO ELECTRIC

I am new to electrics and RC in general. I have built a foam ARF. Hobby-Lobby's Pilatus Turbo Porter. I am to the point where crashes are becoming further apart. I am on a 3 flight day crashless streak! (I probably just jinxed myself ) Anyway, my plans are to build a Piper Cherokee 1/2A and converting to electric. The kit is made by Herr Engineering. I really like this plane as it was one of the aircraft that I learned to fly full scale in. Some of the dimensions are as follows: Wingspan = 42 “ Area = 293.2 Sq."
Weight = 19 oz. Wing Load = 9.3 oz / Sq.’ Engine = .049 to .061.

http://www.leisuretimehobbies.net/Planes/hrrk504.htm

Any ideas on the motor, gearing, prop, and batt that may be required to get this off the ground would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance for any input.

P.S. Has anyone seen a Piper PA-12 kit in their travels? I would love to build one. (Very first plane that I ever flew!)
Old 01-06-2004, 03:45 PM
Henke Torphammar

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: .049 - .61 GLO TO ELECTRIC

Hi

Welcome to Electric RC universe!

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/cox_...1265271/tm.htm here are some info!

you can go with a $50setup, for ex speed 400 3:1 12" prop or you can/should look at some of the brushledd motors!

for examle a Mega 16/15/4 swinging a 7" prop or so on 8cells (I run a /3 with 7" prop so no heat problem there) it should pull well like a .1-.15

I would also suggest li-po battery, for ex 2s2p thunderpower
Old 01-06-2004, 03:52 PM
rings