Glow to Electric Conversions Discuss glow/gas conversion to electric here.

World Models Rambler 30 Elecrtic Conversion

Old 04-14-2004, 03:07 PM
curtusua-RCU
My Feedback: (91)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default World Models Rambler 30 Elecrtic Conversion

Hello fellow electron consumers!

This is my first attempt at writing up my experiences with an electric conversion that I just completed and hope it will provide you with some interesting reading! I have been so impressed with the articles written by Greg Covey and others here that I wanted to add my own post from a relative beginner’s perspective. In this post I’ll try and document my efforts and hopefully encourage others who are thinking about converting a glow model to electric to take the plunge.

Background

The World Models Rambler 30 is a 30 size two stroke (52 4S) sport model (ARF) that I thought would make a great electric conversion and be a nice model to get comfortable with aileron flying and learn some basic aerobatics. I am impressed with the quality (vs price) of WM’s products and this one was no exception. For example, the painted fiberglass cowl matched the film covered structure perfectly.

I’ve been flying glow R/C for just over a year now and learned to fly on a Kadet Senior and then transitioned to a GP Spacewalker and GP Big Stick 60 for my first tail dragger birds. I also have been flying a Miss2, Slow Stick and other indoor and park flyers but wanted to begin converting my 40 and 60 size glow models to electric power as I can fly them conveniently where I work (USAF Academy). I am also a full scale glider and power pilot as well as a flight instructor, so I’m not new to the principles of aviation but I must say flying models airplanes is proving to be quite a different challenge!

Model Specs:

Wing Span: 56.0 in
Wing Area: 527 sq in
Flying Weight: 4.0-4.5 lbs
Fuselage Length :41.5 in
Engine: 2C 0.32 - 0.40 cu in (4C 0.4 - 0.52 cu in)

Power System