Glow to Electric Conversions Discuss glow/gas conversion to electric here.

Kadet Senior to Elec.

Reply

Old 06-14-2004, 02:34 PM
  #1  
captjckirk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 114
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Kadet Senior to Elec.

Kadet Senior [kit built] from glow to elec. I have a Senior which I am considering changing to electric power. Kowning a little about electric, I need some advice. I do have a Butterfly that is elec. with a Phaser 30-3, a 45 ESC, and a nicad 8 cell pac at 2400 ms. Total weight is 5#s. It flys well. The Senior weighs dry 5.5#s. I would like to get around 10-12 min. flight time. Thanks for your help.
captjckirk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 03:57 PM
  #2  
Greg Covey
Senior Member
 
Greg Covey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 5,710
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior to Elec.

The Sig Kadet Senior will be an easy conversion to electric power. Just treat it as a .60-size plane and look for one of the existing conversions in the forums or in a review.

The AXI 4130 motor on GP3300 NiMH cells would be a cost-effective approach. It would work fine on 18-20 cells.

With the huge wingspan and wingarea, this model will be very forgiving if it is on the heavy side. Therefor, even an old-style Astro Flight 625G or 640G geared Cobalt motor will work fine.

Good luck!
Greg Covey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 04:40 PM
  #3  
captjckirk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 114
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior to Elec.

Greg, thanks for your reply. I went on the inter-net regarding batts, couldn't find any 18 to 20 cell 3300s. Dymond shows a 10 cell nicm at 3300. Would the 4820 carry the plane with that combonation?
captjckirk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 08:03 AM
  #4  
Greg Covey
Senior Member
 
Greg Covey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 5,710
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior to Elec.

Typically, you need to combine smaller packs in series. More commonly, you can find 8-cell or 10-cells packs at most battery vendors or you can make your own packs from single cells.

[link=http://www.flydma.com/batteries/batteries.asp?path1=batteries]Diversity Model Aircraft [/link] sells larger GP3300 packs up to 24 cells.

I'm not sure what a 4820 is...
Greg Covey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 08:46 AM
  #5  
captjckirk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 114
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior to Elec.

Sorry, meant AXI4120.
captjckirk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 10:40 AM
  #6  
Greg Covey
Senior Member
 
Greg Covey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 5,710
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior to Elec.

Yes, I think the 4120 would work ok on the Sig Kadet Senior.

You could use the following setup:

[ul][*] AXI [link=http://www.hobby-lobby.com/brushless_axi.htm]4120/14[/link][*] [link=http://www.hobby-lobby.com/motormt.htm#AXI1]PM41002[/link] Radial Mount Set[*] 16-cells of GP3300[*] APC [link=http://www.hobby-lobby.com/elecprop.htm]14x7 or 15x8[/link] e-prop[*] [link=http://www.hobby-lobby.com/jetiblue.htm]JESA40OP[/link] Jeti 40-amp Opto ESC[*] [link=http://www.hobby-lobby.com/ubec.htm]KFS001[/link] UBEC, or KFS003 or an Rx. Battery pack
[/ul]

The lower cell count will keep the weight down. I would also option for the higher current 70-amp Opto ESC if you can afford it. The JESA70OP will run cooler and provide a possible upgrade path if you decide on a 4130 motor later on.
Greg Covey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 02:48 PM
  #7  
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)
 
Matt Kirsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spencerport, NY
Posts: 7,349
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior to Elec.

To make a 16-cell pack, you would connect two VERY common 8-cell packs in series. Kokam makes series connectors, or you can simply wire your own using the connectors of your own choosing, OR you should be able to get one made for you custom.
Matt Kirsch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 04:41 PM
  #8  
captjckirk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 114
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior to Elec.

Thanks for all your input. Looks very do-able. I added up all the gear, and it looks like it will take a Fathers Day,a Birthday, and maybe Christmas to get it all done. One more question...is there such a thing as an external charge jack? Thanks again, will let you know about the progress.
captjckirk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 02:06 PM
  #9  
captjckirk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 114
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior to Elec.

Hi Greg, I now have all the equipment you suggested for the Senior conversion. However, the use of the 15/8 prop gives me no ground clearence, the 14/7 gives me just enough to clear the ground. Is there another prop dimension that would work? I fly off a grass field so I think the prop will be mowing grass. Thanks for your help. Joe
captjckirk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 10:28 PM
  #10  
RandyL
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Silver Lake, KS
Posts: 375
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Kadet Senior to Elec.

Joe, There may or may not be some usable ideas from my convereted Telemaster of similar size. I paticularly like the sloped battery box I built. I take off the "windshield" and the battery pulls out the front without taking the wing off. A proper sized styrofoam block at the bottom of the battery box set the CG of the airframe. A chunk of foam rubber stuffed in front of the battery ( and slightly sticking out the air hole in the box ) hold the battery in place during loops and rolls.

http://www.flyinglindy.homestead.com/Telemaster.html
RandyL is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service