Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Glow to Electric Conversions
Reload this Page >

Funtana 90 electric power or a .40 size

Community
Search
Notices
Glow to Electric Conversions Discuss glow/gas conversion to electric here.

Funtana 90 electric power or a .40 size

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2004, 01:20 PM
kwiktsi

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Funtana 90 electric power or a .40 size

I have been looking at a couple 3D glow planes at my LHS that I thought would be cool to do an electric powerplant in- one is the Funtana 90. I have a 5 turn racing motor (I think it is a Plettenburg- "775" size) from my fast electric hydro that I was thinking maybe that and 16-18 cells or so with a gear drive. Will this work?

Also, if I were to go to a 40 sized plane, would a 550 size motor and say 8-12 cells do the trick there (either direct or geared)? I am new to this electric conversion stuff, I would go brushless, but the $$$ is too much for me right now to power such a large plane. I would rather stick with what I have. Thanks.
Joe
Old 07-06-2004, 02:57 PM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Default RE: Funtana 90 electric power or a .40 size

In either case, the plane will be very underpowered. Move the larger Plettenburg setup into the smaller plane, and you'll have something. It won't be unlimited like its glow powered counterpart, but on 16 cells, the .40-size should perform fairly well.

Electric conversions are a matter of figuring out how much power it's going to take to fly the plane the way you want it to fly, then converting that into a battery.
Old 07-06-2004, 03:20 PM
kwiktsi