Glow to Electric Conversions Discuss glow/gas conversion to electric here.

Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

Reply

Old 10-01-2004, 06:32 AM
  #1  
RC4
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
RC4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dinwiddie, VA
Posts: 125
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

Has anybody here done a Funtana 40 conversion with an AXI motor? I was wondering if either the 4120 or 4130 would be enough engine for extreme 3d. If anybody has this combination, what kind of battery pack are you using and how long are the run times? Would you have enough pull out power from a hover?

Thanks,
Clay
RC4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2004, 09:13 AM
  #2  
A10FLYR
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
A10FLYR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Littleton, CO,
Posts: 1,632
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

I just purchased an AXI 4130-20 for the same plane but first I'm going to try it in a 60 size U-can-do simply because I have an extra one laying around. Plus I want to see if it can haul a larger, heavier airframe. It is claimed to to fly a 14 to 17 pound airplane so we shall see. I'm thinking of trying a 6S2P, 6S3P, and a 9S2P, all TP 2100 10C power systems. (Yellow label)

Any advise appreciated if it has been tried!!
A10FLYR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2004, 10:57 AM
  #3  
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)
 
Matt Kirsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spencerport, NY
Posts: 7,349
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

With the batteries needed to run a 4130/20, the power system might be a bit on the porky side for a .40-size airplane, even with LiPolys. The power system is better suited to 60-size or larger planes, perhaps a Funtana 90.

A friend of mine has a Funtana 40 with the 4120/18, 16 GP3300 NiMH cells, and a 14x10 prop. It's got vertical, but no hover, let alone pull out from a hover. Suits him just fine because he's a "go fast, turn left" kind of pilot, and it will get up a pretty good head of steam. I got a chance to wring it out and it's fine aerobatic plane, but definitely not 3D.

He's considering LiPoly, specifically 5S2P Kokam 2000 15C packs. 21 ounces vs. 34 ounces for the pack will help.

Drop back to a 4120/14 and 13x6 or 14x6 prop, and you can run a 4S2P pack. Roughly the same input power, another quarter pound shaved off... Still not 3D, though, if my <6lb .40-size F4U's vertical is any indication. It'll go up a long ways, but not unlimited, let alone from a standing start (i.e. hover).

The 4130/16 with a 6S2P LiPoly and 14x10, or perhaps a 15x8 or 16x6, prop takes in 800+ Watts. If you can keep the plane around 6lbs, that should be good for basic 3D. Be aware that the power system in this case will weigh close to 3lbs in and of itself, using Kokam 2000 15C cells. If you can do the rest of the plane, radio gear included, in 3lbs, it'll be good.
Matt Kirsch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2004, 11:29 AM
  #4  
bhouin
My Feedback: (106)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Milford, MI
Posts: 199
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

I have a funtana 40 with an AXI 4130-16 with 6s2p (TP2100) lipos running a APC16x10e. My weight came out around 6lb 14oz. My calcs show a thrust to weight of around 1.2-1. I should point out that I am using standard size digital servos (had them on hand) located in the stock positions. I am also using a receiver pack to power the receiver as I have heard that the UBEC creates a pulsing in the digital servos (works fine with standards). The batteries are located directly behind the firewall and the plane balances without any additional ballast. It has foam wheels, no wheel pants and a carbon fiber landing gear.

I am not at the point where I can hover, so I can't tell how it will react in that flight manner, however, it has a very strong upline. Everything I have read from others electrifying the Funtana 40 suggests that it will be big challenge to get to 6lbs.
bhouin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2004, 12:26 PM
  #5  
RC4
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
RC4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dinwiddie, VA
Posts: 125
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

THanks for the feedback. The more I search, the more I realize it will take a Hacker C50 to hover this thing. I'm not willing to spend $359 on engine alone, so it looks like I'll have to look for another electric 3d plane.
RC4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2004, 06:22 PM
  #6  
3dandpatternflyer
Senior Member
 
3dandpatternflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

You can use a cheaper sytem if u buy something like a Bacnhee E-3D
3dandpatternflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2004, 07:59 PM
  #7  
StephenT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 388
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

RC4

Any big plane will cost $400-500 if you are starting from nothing. Some ways are less than others.


Look at a MEC power system.


Andrew!! Tell him how to get there.
StephenT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 09:03 PM
  #8  
3dandpatternflyer
Senior Member
 
3dandpatternflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 531
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

www.modelelectronicscorp.com
3dandpatternflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 07:39 AM
  #9  
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)
 
Matt Kirsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spencerport, NY
Posts: 7,349
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

You know, you don't necessarily have to go with an expensive Hacker. If you look at the Hacker-powered planes with true 3D performance, they have grossly oversized props and very high gear ratios.

The AXi, compared to a 3D-ready geared Hacker, is spinning a smaller prop at a higher RPM. That's why, even with similar Wattages, the AXi can't provide quite enough "oomph" to do the job.

It's quite possible to put a low gear radio, say 2:1 or less, on an AXi, and turn a much larger prop. Food for thought?
Matt Kirsch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2004, 08:22 AM
  #10  
RC4
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
RC4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dinwiddie, VA
Posts: 125
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

Sounds possible, but there must be some reason that AXI doesn't market compatible gear boxes with their units. I wonder if the MEC Superbox would be compatible..
RC4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2004, 05:44 PM
  #11  
StephenT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sebring, FL
Posts: 388
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

RC4


I gearboxed my 282010 AXI 2:1 with a 15x8 prop and got 40% more run time and more verticle.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv65490.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	183999   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wt59026.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	53.2 KB
ID:	184000  
StephenT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2004, 07:24 PM
  #12  
Leprocope
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Shelbyville, KY
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

Can any of you please drop some rpm #s on these 16x10e's? I have a power set up in mind that should get 65-6600 rpm from that prop at 1000+ watts on a 6s2p pack and a total weight of 35 oz for the motor, gear box, controller and battery. I would be interested in the rpm of the prop on your planes to get an idea of how well it will work! Thanks...
Leprocope is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2004, 08:04 AM
  #13  
c-grain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: blanca, CO
Posts: 209
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

RC4,I agree w/Stephen on the MEC option.I have the MEC B36-56-1150 /3.5-1 super box and the power is ferocious!!! With an APC-E 16x8 on 6s,2p Apogee 1570 I got a reading of-735W@21.5V on 38.3A! This is a very conservative power output for this motor. They claim unlimited verticle with a kadet-lt on 20 cells and a 20x10 prop-the plane weigs 8.5#! I Have this motor in a Skylark pattern plane and it is an over-kill. Anyway,I paid around $260 for the motor-super box-Phoenix80& a 16x10 prop! Cant touch the big Hacker for that without esc. Iwill be posting the Skylark conversion soon .
c-grain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2004, 08:55 PM
  #14  
jonnyjetprop
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 287
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

How about these two motors.

http://www.astroflight.com/e/env/000...ducts:af-825gm

http://www.astroflight.com/e/env/000...ducts:af-840gm

I have an Astro 40G brushless in the mail right now.

John
jonnyjetprop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2004, 09:06 PM
  #15  
jonnyjetprop
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 287
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

I assume that you checked out this thread.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_12..._1/key_/tm.htm
jonnyjetprop is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 05:55 PM
  #16  
Leprocope
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Shelbyville, KY
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

Thats the motor I was speaking of John. Please let me know how it turns out. I have been toying with Astroflight motors for the past year and love them! Cant find a better geared motor for the price in my opinion. I'm sure with 1000+ watts the plane will rock! I believe the power system and packs come to about 35oz and with the sanding and recovering I am doing now I should hit under 6 lbs easy. Do you have a dry weight of your plane with no equipment. I never weight it to start so I am interested in how much weight I have saved. Thanks, Terry.
Leprocope is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 09:44 AM
  #17  
Billy Haynes
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rockwell, NC
Posts: 144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Funtana 40 with AXI 4120/4130?

I have a 412018 on my .40 Ultra Stick, 6s2P Apogee 4160's, 13x10 APC E. The Ultra Stick is in the 6.5-6.75lb range. A 13x10 is no hover prop, but the Stick will hover, but will not pull out vertical. The highest temp I've recorded (shooting inside via cooling holes in motor) is 117*F, so I'm not pushing this motor hard at all. You could put on a larger dia prop w/less pitch & I feel sure it would pull a 6.5lb plane out of a hover, but I doubt it would "explode" out of a hover. This isn't a cheap (for me) set up either... in the $600 range, but any large brushless setup is go'n to cost ya. Good luck!
Billy Haynes is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service