Community
Search
Notices
Glow to Electric Conversions Discuss glow/gas conversion to electric here.

102" C-130 conversion

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2004, 03:08 PM
Thunderbolt47
My Feedback: (8)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 102" C-130 conversion

Hello all, I'm fairly new to electrics and I was wanting to build a multi-engine job. This plane is 102" 12 to 17 lbs. uses 4 26 4strokes. I would like to use outrunner motors and lipo batts. Any recommendations. I would like at least 10 minutes fly time and keep the wieght down to a minumim.

Thanks,
Kelly
Old 12-26-2004, 04:21 PM
Greg Covey

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: 102" C-130 conversion

Hi Kelly,

Multi-engine planes is where electric power really stands out for unparalleled reliability.

Depending upon your desired performance goals, there are a number of choices. Check out my P-82 Twin Mustang thread in this forum for an initial idea.

The best motor choice may reside in its size or in its ability to use a 3-cell Lithium pack instead of 4-cells. Both the cost and the complexity will drop when using 3-cell packs.

Consider the [link=http://www.hobby-lobby.com/brushless-axi2826.htm]AXI 2826/10 or 12[/link] motor. If we assume excellent performance will be had at 100 watts per pound then at 15lbs, you'll need 1500 watts of power.

Since I am flying a 6lb plane using a single 2826/12 motor (see [link=http://www.hobby-lobby.com/taxicup.htm]Graupner Taxi Cup II[/link]) you should have no problem flying a 15lb plane on four of these motors. Each motor would use its own Jeti 40amp ESC and 3-cell Lithium pack.

What is your desired prop size?
Old 12-28-2004, 11:45 AM
zipman
My Feedback: (22)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 102" C-130 conversion

HI Kelly,