Community
Search
Notices
Glow to Electric Conversions Discuss glow/gas conversion to electric here.

convertinc DC-3

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2005, 10:08 PM
Roger Q.
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default convertinc DC-3

All conversion experts: I currently am planning on converting Top Flite's big DC-3 from "gas" to 2 Astro Cobalt, geared 25's. I have 2 8 cell packs: 3300 mha batteries. I have been building and flying for overe 40 years, so I don't need basic advice: but does anyone have any specific ideas on taking some weight out of this plane? I am putting retracts in it also. It is a beautiful kit, with good instructions, and it seems to be designed and built to be strong, but light. However, I thought someone might have some, as I said before, specific ideas on how to lighten it up. Thanks. Roger
Old 01-09-2005, 05:39 AM
luc-RCU

Default RE: convertinc DC-3

use li po packs...or brushless outrunners (or both)
Old 01-09-2005, 12:35 PM
Roger Q.

thanks for the suggestions about the motors and batteries: I understand what you say, and wanted to use li-polys, and outrunner motors, but I allready have the batteries and astro motors, and money just isn't there to convert. So........Thanks again. roger
Old 01-10-2005, 12:46 PM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Roger,

You're probably going to find that very few people have built this plane, let alone built it for electric. Even fewer are those who built the plane, built it for electric, AND read this forum religiously... Building is a dying art, and Top Flite Gold Edition kits are traditionally "ambitious" kits to build. So, hopefully you can take more generic advice and run with it.