Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Glow to Electric Conversions
Reload this Page >

GP Ryan STA electric conversion sizing motor, esc, and batteries

Notices
Glow to Electric Conversions Discuss glow/gas conversion to electric here.

GP Ryan STA electric conversion sizing motor, esc, and batteries

Old 05-28-2005, 11:29 AM
Ryanfan
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GP Ryan STA electric conversion sizing motor, esc, and batteries

I'm new to eletric flight. I would like to convert my GP Ryan STA 1.20 ARF to electric ( SORRY< I should have calrified this when I first posted this). I've used MotoCalc to size/select components. I'm finding it hard to locate the manufacturer(s) of the motors/gearbox(s) suggested.

I would like to get confirmation of the selections before I buy something that turns out to be wrong for the application., or unobtainable.

The ARF is new in the box. I just obtained it from another RCU member. This makes any modification possible without having to unbuild or replace fuel soaked parts. (I mention this because I plan on converting my Midwest Livewire Champ and have found despite careful attention to fuel proofing, some areas will have to be cut out and replaced)

I plan on flying fully aerobatic. Our field (STARS-Syracuse) is well manicured grass.

As I mentioned, I'm new to electric flight, but not glow. My spare time is very limited hens the move to ARF and electric. My family appreciates it too. Since I was last actively flying, battery technology has gained in leaps and bounds. Back then, NiCads were simple- fully discharge before recharge to avoid memory build up. Charge slowly. New batteries every spring. The NiCad days seem to be almost gone.

I need help understanding the available battery technology, and the proper care and hygene that goes along with it. I almost burned up my dad's car 30 yrs ago charging a rc car in the front seat from the cigarette lighter. Fortunately our club has electricity now.