Glow to Electric Conversions Discuss glow/gas conversion to electric here.

Transall C-160

Reply
Old 10-03-2005, 09:50 PM
  #26
Van
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NV
Posts: 170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

I haven't figured out how to mount my battery yet. First I need to finish the plane then find out where the battery needs to be to set the C/G. I figure that I'll more than likely have a piece of ply epoxied in and use both velcro and a velcro strap to hold the battery in place. I do plan on using a single battery (3S3P 6000mah).
Van is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2005, 09:57 PM
  #27
EFisch
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: appleton, WI
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

I am going to do the same thing. This is my second c160. My first fell do to a faulty ESC. I put a hatch on the underside towards the nose of first plane. I think I will just remove the wing to access the battery the second time.
EFisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 10:24 AM
  #28
Overlander
 
Overlander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vacaville, CA,
Posts: 48
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160


Quote:
ORIGINAL: codimasta

Since this was to be a conversion ....enclosed pictures of mounting the motors (2814/10)

Hi Larry,

What size props did Hobby Lobby suggest with those 2814s?

-Todd
Overlander is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 03:01 PM
  #29
codimasta
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 529
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

I am using Master Airscrew Electric Series 10 X 6 (Part# MA1060BE).
I will remove the wing to replace the batteries. Should have it completed within a week.
Below is what I got from Hobby Lobby

YES THAT WILL BE AN EXCELLENT CHOICE. DEPENDANT ON WHAT SIZE PROP YOU ARE GOING TO SWING, YOU COULD HAVE GONE WITH THE 2814/12 MOTOR, OR THE 2820/10 MOTOR, NORMALLY THE 2820 SERIES WILL RUN A 10 INCH DIA AS A MINIMUM SIZE, AND THE 2814 WILL RUN A 9 INCH USING THE SAME BATTERY PACK.

NORMALLY A .25 WILL RUN ABOUT A 9 INCH PROP, SO I WOULD SUSPECT THAT THE GROUND CLEARANCE ON THE AIRPLANE IS SET UP FOR A 9 INCH PROP.

YOU DIDNT SAY ANY THING ABOUT WHAT BATTERY PACK YOU ARE THINKING ABOUT. THAT WILL HAVE A BIG EFFECT ON WHAT SIZE PROP AND WHAT CONTROLLER YOU WILL NEED.

OH YES, IF YOU DIDNT KNOW, WITH BRUSHLESS MOTORS, YOU WILL NEED ONE CONTROLLER FOR EACH MOTOR, SO YOU WILL ALSO NEED 2 CONTROLLERS ALSO.
codimasta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 11:07 PM
  #30
EFisch
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: appleton, WI
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

Well mine is done. I am taking it out on Sunday. 55 degrees and 5 mile/hr winds are forcasted. Wish me luck.
EFisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 11:07 PM
  #31
codimasta
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 529
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

This is what Castle Creations sent:

Sounds like a good project. Go with 3s lipo, total as many p as it takes
to get about 7000-8000 mah total. Have one large pack or several in
parallel with a Y harness going to the controllers. Use a Y harness to
each controller off of you receiver throttle channel. Set the the
controllers to Cut of Type = 'Soft Cut Off', Throttle Type = 'Fixed' as
Soft Start = 'Softest'. Phoenix 35s would good in this application.
Don't be afraid to go up in ESC capacity but don't go down.

If you have any other questions don't hesitate to ask.

--
Cordially,
Bernie Wolfard AMA# 7712
Product Support Specialist
Castle Creations
402 E Pendleton
Wellsville, KS 66092
785-883-4519, Ext 123
berniew@castlecreations.com



>
>
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> Subject:
> Conversion
> From:
> Lawrence Paiva <paiv@wizard.com>
> Date:
> Fri, 22 Jul 2005 12:21:05 -0700
> To:
> support@castlecreations.com
>
> To:
> support@castlecreations.com
>
>
> I am presently in the process of converting an Transall C-160 Model
> from glow to electric.
> Wingspan: 73.3 in. Wing Area: 605 sq. in. Flying weight:
> 6.4 lbs Engines: 2ea. .25 cu in.
>
> Planing to use: AXI 2814/10 Brushless motor (2 ea.) Prop: 9-6 to 10-6
> 3 s 2 p Lipoly..X 2 per motor 11.1v 4000
> ma or Should it be 4 s 2p 14.8 4000 ma.
> Brushless Contorller: Phoenix - 35 X 2
>
>
codimasta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 05:11 PM
  #32
Van
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NV
Posts: 170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

Larry,

Are you going to bring your C-160 to the next club meeting? I've nearly finished repainting (from camo to white/gray) mine.

It seems there are two C-160s out there. One from Giant Scale Planes/China Models, and the other from Fine Models(?). They look similar except one is all white with the horizontal stab fitting up into the fuse from the bottom, not a slide if from the side mount. I'll show you mine if you show me yours! :-)
Van is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 08:59 PM
  #33
codimasta
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 529
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

If is finish it in time yes....Better attend the meeting.
I have the all White with blue trim on the wing...the stab mounts from the bottom.
I just programmed my speed controls today, and will mount them in the nacelle .

Larry
AMA 11269
codimasta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 07:57 PM
  #34
EFisch
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: appleton, WI
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

I was getting ready to fly today and decided to do a little on the ground testing. Lucky I did. The right motor mount broke loose on the ground causing the motor to vibrate loose. I dodged a bullet. I re-enforced the mounts and I will have to try next weekend.
EFisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 06:51 AM
  #35
BDREW
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fort, NJ
Posts: 81
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

Do you guys have a video of one of these flying. I am interested in buying one, and would love to see a video.

Thanks,
BDREW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 07:43 AM
  #36
DocYates
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Killen, AL
Posts: 3,340
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

i have been reading your thread, and thought I would chime in for a second with my experience. Going electric with this plane is the answer. You guys are doing it right. I have built and flown two of these in the glow powered form. They flew great. Landings are a breeze and absolutely beautiful. I lost both due to left side engine out on climb out. With both electrics running it will be an absolute joy to fly. You will need to put your battery packs in the nose, and I would think you could run at least a 10 inch three bladed prop with no concern for clearance.
On takeoff she will lift off by herself just like the real C-130 in a very flat angle of attack, just a little back pressure and she is climbing like a homesick angel.
BTW I have the carcasses of two of these if anyone needs them. Let me know.
Tommy
DocYates is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 09:57 AM
  #37
EFisch
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: appleton, WI
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

Tommy,
If by carcasses you mean fuselages. How good of shape are they? I may be interested.

Todd
EFisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 10:10 AM
  #38
DocYates
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Killen, AL
Posts: 3,340
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

One fuse is in great shape, only damage to right side of elevator. The other has cut where a prop hit it in the crash. Both wings are broken at the outboard section. The parts are yours for the cost of shipping if you want them.
Tommy
DocYates is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 11:05 AM
  #39
EFisch
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: appleton, WI
Posts: 16
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

Sure I will take them. I can send a check if that works.
EFisch is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 11:07 AM
  #40
DocYates
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Killen, AL
Posts: 3,340
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

Contact me off the thread (PM) or email and I can arrange to ship them to you. After I get a box and get them weighed then you can send me a check or Paypal for the shipping costs.
TOmmy
DocYates is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 06:41 PM
  #41
Edd Spidell
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chepachet, RI
Posts: 81
Default RE: Transall C-160

Hi Guys,

I have a C-160 shipping in this week, so I have enjoyed reading through the thread. I am planning on running it with the same setup as my Hobbico Twin Star: Fun 600-17, CC Phnx 60's, Kokam 3200ma 20C (3S2P), and counter-rotating 9x6 props. The Twin Star honks, period, so this plane should climb-out well.

My question is: has anyone toyed around with the idea of putting in a working cargo door/ramp? Also, can the front fuse area be easily accessed for battery placement/removal/C.G. adjustment? I hate the thought of carving out a hatch as in the G.P. DC-3.

Thanks to all that have posted to this thread.

Best regards,

Edd Spidell
Edd Spidell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 08:59 PM
  #42
Overlander
 
Overlander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vacaville, CA,
Posts: 48
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

Hi Edd,

My white C-160 showed up last week and all I have been ble to think about is a working ramp and retracts[>:].

Designs are still being continuously revised in my sub-conscious. Perhaps it will come to me in a dream......
Overlander is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2005, 03:40 PM
  #43
Edd Spidell
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chepachet, RI
Posts: 81
Default RE: Transall C-160

HI Overlander,

I like your retracts idea also, can't wait to get the plane here (R.I.) as the rain and wind for the past ten days has increased the "cabin fever" for flying. You mention that you have a white version - all white or white/gray combo? I went for the camo finish from AKM, if it flies well enough I will pick up another in white also. What are you planning on running for the power systems? I might try using the Himaxx HB3630-1500kv in place of the Kontroniks ($$$), as two will cost about $170.00 vs. $300.00 for the Fun 600's. I'll take the hit on performance, but I'll put the savings into the other sinkhole, the Li-Poly's. This stuff really is addictive....

Peace,

Edd

Edd Spidell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2005, 04:13 PM
  #44
BDREW
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fort, NJ
Posts: 81
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

I am curious...How does this plane fly in the wind?
BDREW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2005, 04:24 PM
  #45
Overlander
 
Overlander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vacaville, CA,
Posts: 48
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Edd Spidell

HI Overlander,

You mention that you have a white version - all white or white/gray combo? I went for the camo finish from AKM, if it flies well enough I will pick up another in white also. What are you planning on running for the power systems? I might try using the Himaxx HB3630-1500kv in place of the Kontroniks
I am running twin 2820/10 AXIs. I got them on sale at aircraft world. $74.99 a pop. I looked at the new big Himax outrunners too and they would probably work well. I am slo saving a few buck by using 4 RC-Dymond 2000 3S packs in paralell at $35.00 a pop.

Mine is all white with red wingtips and blue leading edge. I am going to paint it like the Coast Gaurd C-130. I already cut the aft ramp out to help get my hand inside for some LG mockups. I cant decide wether to spend the bux and go pnuematic or stay mechanical. I think pnematic will ultimately be lighter weight because I will likely need many servos without.

-Todd
Overlander is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2005, 09:17 PM
  #46
codimasta
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 529
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

[8D]Test flew the plane today...needless to say everything went just fine.
I am using AXI 2814/10 with CC 35 speed control...2 ea 11.1 @ 4000 ma. hooked up in parallel,
APC 10-5 props...drawing 29 Amps.
My first landing was a bit hot...due to the loss of on of the front wheels...did not use lock-tite on the nut...on side tightens, while the other side loosens...the problem has been corrected.
The second flight was more on the relaxing type..low passes thrilled the crowd..ha ! ha !
With a 5 min flight I used 1924 MA. per pack...both packs are very close. The batteries packs are velcro'd to a yard stick.....need to take some pictures to explain.

Larry
AMA 11269
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Kh17486.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	38.8 KB
ID:	341766   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lg18226.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	53.0 KB
ID:	341767  
codimasta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2005, 07:48 PM
  #47
Edd Spidell
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chepachet, RI
Posts: 81
Default RE: Transall C-160

Hey Codimasta,

Congrats on the maiden flight. I finally got my C-160 (camo) in today and starting on the wing sections. I am putting in ultra-bright white L.E.D's for landing lights, wingtip lights, and releases for drop tanks or "other devices". I also will be putting in a working cargo ramp for aerial drops. I am working on an active method of changing the C.G. in flight to allow for up to a pound of simulated cargo to be released. This is going to be a fun project for sure. I was flying a C-47 (Polk Hobby) today re-motored to brushless turning 3-blade 8x6 with Aveox motors, a very huge difference over the "barely clears the ground" stock brushed setup. The C-160 probably will become my favorite, from all I have been reading in this thread.

Again, great job!

Best regards,

Edd Spidell
Edd Spidell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2005, 07:58 PM
  #48
BDREW
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fort, NJ
Posts: 81
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

Can you please put up pictures of the plane...especially the cargo door.

Thanks
BDREW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2005, 08:39 AM
  #49
Edd Spidell
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chepachet, RI
Posts: 81
Default RE: Transall C-160

Hi Gang,

I found a great web-site for detailing both the camo and white versions of the C-160. It is from a German Air force squadron history site. Enjoy!

http://www.fliegzeugs.de/html/c-160_transall.html

Regards,

Edd
Edd Spidell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2005, 07:56 PM
  #50
Van
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NV
Posts: 170
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Transall C-160

Your Transall looks great Larry. Looks kinda 'plane' (pun intended) without any colored windows, graphics, etc. I'm glad to hear the first flights went well.

I've just finished my Transall. I'll be using two AXI 2820-10 motors turning APC 11x5.5 props with a TP 3S3P 6000mah pack. I haven't measured my amp draw yet, but I'm expecting <60 amps WOT total. I base this off using the same motor/prop/battery combo on a Sig Rascal 40 drawing 29amps at WOT. It sounds like full throttle won't be needed, so the batteries should be able to handle the draw just fine. I'll add some pictures and my battery mount system later.

Van is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:05 AM.