Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Glow to Electric Conversions
Reload this Page >

I need your help with a conversion

Notices
Glow to Electric Conversions Discuss glow/gas conversion to electric here.

I need your help with a conversion

Old 12-11-2006, 10:33 AM
mschneider2005
My Feedback: (34)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I need your help with a conversion

Hello Everyone,

I need some help setting up a nitro to electric conversion. I have been building and flying R/C since 1980, but this is my first attempt with electric. The plane I want to convert is:

http://www.nitroplanes.com/newcmpla3650.html

It has a 59" WS
and weighs about 5.5 to 6 lbs.

What I need help with is everything regarding the power plant:

Motor type / size that is comparable to a .46 2-stroke (can dia, length, RPM/v input)
Prop adapter
Motor mount
Batteries Type/size/rating/chemical compound (multi-pack setup?)
Charger type
ESC type and size
Anything else I'll need to complete the conversion that I can't think of.

Brand names and specifics are very helpful. I do most shoping on Tower, so if they carry the parts, even better.

Thank you for your time!

Mike

Old 12-11-2006, 11:31 AM
carlosponti
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: I need your help with a conversion

i think a 4 cell lipo with a 60 amp esc would do just fine look for a 800 or so kv motor. on the 4 cell lipo i would use two 4 cells in parallel.
Old 12-14-2006, 11:12 AM
iFLYrc_Vic
My Feedback: (6)

I have this plane in the stars and strips paint scheme. I set it up with an OS .46SF glow engine. I think it would be a good electric conversion project - lots of room in the cowl for a motor and lots of room in the fuse for batteries and ESC.