RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Glow to Electric Conversions (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/glow-electric-conversions-132/)
-   -   GreatPlanes RV-4 Build thread as a 46 Electric (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/glow-electric-conversions-132/10791640-greatplanes-rv-4-build-thread-46-electric.html)

T-jetracer59 10-31-2011 11:34 PM

GreatPlanes RV-4 Build thread as a 46 Electric

1 Attachment(s)
This is my first attempt at a build thread, so hope I can figure it all out. I will be building a GreatPlanes RV-4 as an Electric 46. With flaps. It will be a stock build, except for making it electric. The kit was purchased from Tower Hobby, they had free shiping on this plane. It arrived well packed with no damage, the kit was packed well also, the quality of the kit was pretty good for a GreatPlanes kit.

T-jetracer59 11-01-2011 12:30 AM

RE: GreatPlanes RV-4 Build thread as a 46 Electric

1 Attachment(s)
I am building the plane on a2' X 4' acustic celing tile, using wax paper to protect the plans. I will be using Mercury Adhesives (CA) Thin, Medium and Thick viscositys, which I bought from RCfoam, which recently moved here to Colorado springs, about 7 miles from my house, they have a real nice warehouse. For sheeting I will use Titebond wood glue, a little old fasion, but I like to use it on sheeting specialy when it is dampend. The stab and elevator halfs went together smoothly, I built them as one piece not as seperate pieces as per instructions, then cut them apart when done, I find this makes things lineup better when putting it all together again. Thin CA was used on all of it. I have sanded all edges except where the hinges go, I am setting that asside for later, to do all hinges at the same time

T-jetracer59 11-01-2011 01:12 AM

1 Attachment(s)