RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Glow to Electric Conversions (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/glow-electric-conversions-132/)
-   -   Mud Duck ll (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/glow-electric-conversions-132/7955650-mud-duck-ll.html)

parrot pilot 09-15-2008 06:00 AM

Mud Duck ll

Hi all, I’m pretty new to rc model planes, just building and flying for a few months now. For my fourth build, I started a giant FFF Mud Duck 2. Got it about ½ done because of the rain this past week end. It’s a giant slow flyer (for those who don’t know) .60 2-stroke to .91 4-stroke glow is recommended. I’ve made a few modifications to make it lighter than the plans; don’t have a total weight yet. I want to go electric, any thoughts on engine and battery choices?
Dan

jumper666 09-15-2008 10:19 AM

RE: Mud Duck ll

http://www.modelflight.com.au/eflite..._brushless.htm

parrot pilot 09-16-2008 04:53 PM

Thanks jumper. I sent an email to mud duck aviation and Greg quickly returned one to me about my plan to make a FFF electric mud duck. I need to get a final weight before he can figure what size I’ll need. I’ve read that it doesn’t pay to put a bigger engine than you kneed on a duck; just a waste. I wanted to mention that I did a bit of looking after I saw the prices of those engines (!!!$$$) and found that they are about 25% cheaper directly from the maker. The duck is coming along nicely. I can’t wait!

jumper666 09-16-2008 10:19 PM

Good luck with your build. Looking forward to pictures and/or video.

Glacier Girl 09-17-2008 11:22 AM

Hey PP,
I just bought the plans and such from Greg for the Agri Duck. He was at NEAT this year.

On his MD he had a AXI 4130-18 I believe. I tried waiting around to see the MD fly, but Greg had problems with the Jeti 77 esc and I ended up leaving before it got repaired.

I'm going electric on mine too. I have some spare EFlite 60's or even a couple of HTX 280kv monsters I'm looking at using.