RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Glow to Electric Conversions (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/glow-electric-conversions-132/)
-   -   Great Planes Giant Scale Super Sportster (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/glow-electric-conversions-132/9683012-great-planes-giant-scale-super-sportster.html)

fastplane 04-23-2010 11:36 AM

Great Planes Giant Scale Super Sportster

<span style="font-size: larger;">I am considering buying a GP Giant Scale Super Sportster and may want to use electric power.
It is listed as 82" ws and 13-14.5 lbs. I am new to electric and not sure how to size the motor, esc, batteries, etc to get good performance.</span><span style="font-size: larger;">
Has this been done? What success and what equipment? There does not seem to be a good crossover chart from glow to electric.
If putting electric motor power what about cooling? Somehow need to provide cut outs air flow through plane I would imagine.
Thanks
</span>

Red Baron Gary 04-23-2010 11:53 AM

RE: Great Planes Giant Scale Super Sportster

I built a Great Planes Zlin with their recommended motor, esc and battery compliment. Flew absoulutley perfect on first and all subsequent flights.
Only varitaion I did tho was I used (and recommend) Hyperion batteries and their BC charger
The first thign I noticed on first flight (and do enjoy) is the instant throttle response and linearity of power. I like it !
Good luck,
Gary

C141FlyGuy 05-06-2010 12:39 PM