Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Irvine Engine Help please

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2003, 05:12 PM
Pajo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Irvine Engine Help please

Hi, first plane, first engine, first post here.
I am a raw newbie, but bought a plane from a m8 which has an Irvine 40 engine.
Despite knowing nothing, I stripped down the engine,(great idea for a newbie ) and cleaned it up with carburettor spray.
I think I know how to put it back , but am not 100% sure about "which way around" the piston goes.

The piston has a little rectangle cut out in it , so could anyone describe which way around in the sleeve it goes.

Also as the engine is bone dry now, do I need to oil it before trying to start it etc, will I need a torque spanner to put the head back on etc.
Any advice appreciated, cos I know nothing ( didn't stop me taking it apart though).
Old 08-22-2003, 06:20 PM
DarZeelon

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Pajo,

The rectangular hole in the piston is to prevent masking of the boost port, when the piston goes down.

It goes on the piston side, opposite the exhaust.

The Schneurle ports are angled on both sides of the exhaust ports and the third "boost" port, usually with slightly shorter open timing, is angled up, opposite the exhaust post.

The ports are all angled, so as not to spew the fresh mixture out of the open exhaust port.

Don't get the carburettor spray on plastic and neoprene parts.

Use after-run oil, or ATF (or Marvel air-tool oil) for assembly.
Old 08-22-2003, 06:34 PM
Pajo

Originally posted by DarZeelon

It goes on the piston side, opposite the exhaust.

Thanks a lot for your help m8,
some of your reply was a little over my head at the moment but hopefully after reading a lot here, I will learn a bit .

just to clarify
is the following correct.