Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Great Planes Yak 54 with OS 160

Reply
Old 06-15-2012, 06:27 AM
  #1
RHarding
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hope Mills NC
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Great Planes Yak 54 with OS 160

I have a couple of OS 1.60 needing a home and love them. I'm wanting to put one on a Great Planes Yak 54. Has anyone out there flown this combination. I'm not a 3D pilot, just enjoy the old style aerobatics. Graceful as they were in the 40's thru the 70's. Any info would be appreciated.

Richard

RHarding is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 07:22 PM
  #2
sport10
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 736
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Yak 54 with OS 160

I have not flown the great planes yak but did have a QQ yak 72 with an OS 1.60 and loved the combo. Along as you do not let the weight get above 12.5 pounds I would say the 1.60 should power the plane well. I do really regret selling the QQ yak/1.60 fx as it was a fine plane.
sport10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:36 PM
  #3
Kostas1
 
Kostas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: AthensAthens, GREECE
Posts: 3,558
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Yak 54 with OS 160

Richard,

I guess that you are referred to the 1.60 FX.....? If yes, she should do the job just right...
Kostas1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 05:08 PM
  #4
RHarding
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hope Mills NC
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Yak 54 with OS 160

Thanks guys. My Yak is suppose to arrive tomorrow. I had a couple hundred flights on a Great Planes Extra 300 Gene Soucy with the OS 1.60 FX and loved it until I pulled out of a spin about one revolution too late. It had almost leveled off but the gear caught and took it off. Fixable and might do it. I would get another, but it's not available any longer. That was a great looking and flying airplane. Decided to try a Yak this time. It's about 3 or 4 inches more ws, but weight is about the same. Looking forward to it.

Richard
RHarding is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 09:37 PM
  #5
Kostas1
 
Kostas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: AthensAthens, GREECE
Posts: 3,558
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Yak 54 with OS 160

Keep us posted!
Kostas1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 12:10 PM
  #6
RHarding
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hope Mills NC
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Great Planes Yak 54 with OS 160

Got my Yak and am working on it. Took me about 3 hrs to fix the covering on the wings. Now have them finished. Fuse. and tail surfaces are much better. It is a good looking airplane and is built light. I added some tri-stock to the firewall and firewall box. Also added some thick CA or epoxy to some joints that I thought needed it. Don't want to add too much weight. In my younger years, I'm sure I could have it ready to fly in a week, but now I'm a slow builder. Have other planes to fly, so this is not a must have quick. More later.

Richaard
RHarding is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:26 PM.