Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Braze on muffler nipple?

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2012, 08:45 AM
JPMacG
My Feedback: (2)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Braze on muffler nipple?

I have an old Soundmaster muffler on my Enya 50SS. It is great, sound level is very good and power is not reduced. In fact, the engine seems more powerful with the Soundmaster than with the original Enya muffler.

The soundmaster is made from thinwall steel that is brazed or welded together. The pressure nipple was originally just threaded onto the thin steel, but that lasted about four flights before the theads vibrated loose. So I soldered the nipple on. That worked for awhile, but apparently the muffler gets above the melting temperature of solder, and now that has come apart.

I'm wondering if I can braze the brass nipple onto the steel muffler body. I've done some steel-to-steel brazing before using a small oxy acetelene torch. Can I braze brass to steel? What filler metal should I use?

Thanks
Old 09-17-2012, 09:12 AM
Ernie Misner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Braze on muffler nipple?

I think you could braze it in (good thinking) but it might be too easy to melt the brass nipple in the process. Wouldn't hurt to give it a try. It doesn't seem likely that the muffler got so hot as to melt the solder though. The problem could be that once a muffler is used, it is very difficult to get all of the castor oil out of the pores on the metal. Try heating it with a torch and then use a wire wheel to clean it down to some bare metal. You could try some silver solder which has a higher melting point, or even JBWeld as an experiment. Getting back to the brazing, you could simply braze in a tiny steel tube and be good to go. You will get this solved.

Ernie Misner
Old 09-17-2012, 09:43 AM
SrTelemaster150

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts