Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Saito 100 needle problems

Hello I am new to 4-strokes and am having a bit of an issue with a Saito 100. I am using a Kelco custom exhaust on a Hangar 9 Spitfire with a blade 13x8 prop. I am having issues trying to get the engine tunned. The issue that I am having is the high speed needle valve doesn't seem to have an effect on rpm. It peeks out around 10,300 rpm. When I turn out the needle valve it richens up but the rpms dont seem to change. 1 full turn will cause a 100 rpm drop. As it is richened the exhaust gets smokey and sloppy so it seems it is running rich but the rpms don't seem to change. When I shut it down there is oil and resuide covering the plane as you would expect from a rich engine.I have tried different fuels 15% synthetic and castrol blend and 30% all synthetic. I verified no issues with fuel lines and the Carb has no obstructions. As all of my previous experience is with 2 strokes I don't know if I am doing something wrong. I just dont know how to tune it if propperly if the rpms dont change. Thanks Adam

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: Saito 100 needle problems

Open up the low speed needle a little and try the high speed again
    Attended the CutFinger Institute of DirtNap University for years but never did graduate....
    Recipient, Mangledhand award August 2008
    Club Saito Member #7
    Original AMA #31261

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

It sounds like your low speed needle valve is too rich.
    The ultimate responsibility of pilots is to fulfill the dreams of the countless millions who can only stare skyward...and wish.