Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

OS max 52 surpass 4 stroke is this true

I bought an OS max 52 surpass 4-stroke for my .40 size spitfire I am building, I got a good price, 50.00 It has a prop on it,, I turned it over by hand and noticed there was not much compression at all, on the compression stroke,I hear the valvetrain moving, so I believe it is all working,, The seller told me that the engine will not really have compression until it has fuel in it?? is this true,, I am new to these engines, I bought it he seemed like an honest enough old timer,
    Thanks fellas

I also have to mount it inverted, I was told I have to use an onboard glow driver to help prevent flooding and dying at low throttle?

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: OS max 52 surpass 4 stroke is this true

Fuel and warming up will help compression. Also check the valve settings.

Tom

Sometimes, if they sat in storage for a while, they will only get good compression after running for a minute or so.
    Pe, (www.mvvs.nl), MVVS, MOKImotor, RCexl, MTW, Xoar, Mejzlik.
    Blessing in ignorance? There is sanctuary in analysis.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Also, if the throttle is all the way closed when you're turning it over...that can make the compression feel soft...
    < Wrongway Feldman's Kreider-Reisner KR-21...(on Gilligan's Island)

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

I have the same engine from new that had the same issue when i turned it over from been laid up for a couple of years, a stuck valve was the cause.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings