Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

The end of small glow engines

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2014, 02:48 PM
Axle Al
My Feedback: (25)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

[QUOTE=fizzwater2;11832837]I've seen some mighty impressive electric airplanes. Large scale planes, pattern planes, etc.

However, they just don't do it for me, in spite of the advancements in electric power since the advent of the LiPo, brushless motors, etc.

And I'm an electrical engineer - maybe after spending all day dabbling in electronic stuff, it just doesn't appeal to me to do more of it for a hobby.

"Nelson" .40 size race engines are still available. Aero Racing engines ( http://aeroracingengines.com/ ) yea thats the place making nelson
Old 06-30-2014, 02:54 PM
bjr_93tz

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts

F3A probably isn't exctly comparing apples with apples.

Power is secondary to flexibility, and impression. Any manufacture could bring out a nitro 2-stroke that'd rip the front end out of any F3A ship and be lighter than what we have now but it'd lack the flexibility, flyability and in general look and sound bad in the air.

It's horses for courses in this hobby, pick which power source suits the application (be thankfull we have so many options) and run with it.
Old 06-30-2014, 03:01 PM
Axle Al

Originally Posted by jester_s1
Yes, Sport Pilot, variable timing on the ignition is possible. CDI is a better solution for that though, as the ignition timing can be precisely controlled. Our glow plug ignitions all are running significantly more advanced than they should be for max power. That is done to give us reliable idles and strong transitions. Axel Al had mentioned in a previous post about variable valve timing for glow engines, which is what I was responding to. You can't have VVT when you don't have any valves.