Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Saito 82 surging at wot

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2014, 05:38 PM
goose_wrench

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Saito 82 surging at wot

I am new to 4 strokes and need some advice. I have the 82 with the plastic backing plate. I have had this engine for several years. I ran it on a stand when i first got it to break it in and had to put the hobby on hold for several years. My son is now old enough to get into the hobby with me and we have built a Senior Kadet together. We brought out the engine and put it on the stand to start to tune it. It runs great at idle, it will do 2400 - 2500 all day. It transitions great but it surges at wot and only reaches 8800-9000 with a wood 13x6. I feel like I am chasing my tail. I lean the needle and the rpm will start to rise and it will either sag or quit at 9000 rpm. If I start to richen it will load up and drop rpm quickly with only a few clicks of the needle. I have fresh fuel and a new saito plug installed. I have now disassembled and cleaned the carb. I am ordering a reseal kit before trying again. I noticed the o ring in the intake pipe on the head end was a little deformed. Am I heading in the right direction or am I overlooking something simple? I love the sound but this thing has been a little bit of a pain. It also vibrates pretty good at wot. Is this something that will clear up over time or another issue? Thanks in advance.
Old 10-26-2014, 05:50 PM
1QwkSport2.5r

Received 76 Likes on 69 Posts

I'm gonna guess it's not broke in yet. Unless you ran a gallon through it, it's probably still not run-in enough to not sag at a normal flight mixture. How much run time did you put on it when you ran it last total?
Old 10-26-2014, 06:06 PM
goose_wrench