Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Buying used engines

Old 02-12-2019, 01:17 AM
Twinhydro
My Feedback: (6)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Buying used engines

I have bought a few used glow engines on the for sale Marketplace here and have been disappointed . The last purchase was a Super Tiger 90 Glow listed in good condition . The engine I received was very hard to turn over and the bearings were very " notchy " feeling . I took off the engine backplate and head only to find a lot of rust from the engine sitting for a long time with fuel residue . Although the standard practice in RC boat racing circles , after run oil does not seem to be a regular practice in the airplane crowd . I have been flying and boat racing since 1980 so over that time I have had dozens and dozens of different engines and installed and replaces many many bearing due to use and neglect . Lube the engines up if you are not going to use them , glow fuel is very corrosive and will hurt the bearings if left to sit .. I will have to rebuild the engine I just got from Marketplace . Buyer Beware !

Last edited by Twinhydro; 02-12-2019 at 02:38 AM.
Old 02-12-2019, 02:59 AM
Hobbsy
My Feedback: (102)

Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts

Not so much rust but castor residue and that's exactly what I expect an engine to look like when I receive it.. Most of the time I order the Boca Bearings before I get the engine. I just received this Saito 182 and it looks great and is great, no cam or lifter wear, rocker arm tips not worn. But when I pulled the cylinders and the cams off, the rear bearing was notchy as you described. I had a new rear bearing and am waiting on a new front bearing from Boca.
Old 02-12-2019, 04:56 AM
Twinhydro

Sorry that you set your expectations so low Hobbsy ! The photo does not do it justice . When I buy a used engine in "good " condition I expect to at least be able to use it .
Old 02-12-2019, 05:32 AM
Jesse Open

Received 91 Likes on 83 Posts