Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Trouble w/OS 60FP

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2005, 10:53 AM
Don Brent

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trouble w/OS 60FP

Fellow Fliers,
I am fairly new to the hobby and am currently "running in" an O.S. 60FP on the bench. My problem is that, with the engine running at a rich 2-cycle (plenty of smoke and oil) setting, it quits after about 1 min or so of running at full throttle. I was told by someone at my local field that the 12x6 prop I was using might be too large of a load for it, so I switched to an 11x6 but the problem persists.

The engine starts fine and appears to run well until it heats up (about a minute or so)...then it begins to hesitate a bit, then a bit more, and finally stops. It will start again but I can't get it to keep running happily along.

Any thoughts?

Don
Old 05-25-2005, 12:43 PM
William Robison
My Feedback: (3)

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default RE: Trouble w/OS 60FP

Try two things.

First, an engine usually will eat the first glow plug pretty quickly. Try it leaving the glow heat on, or reattach it when the engine starts to sag. If it picks up immediately with reattachment or keeps going leaving it on, replace the plug.

Secondly, you could be using more nitro than the engine likes, and it's just overheating. Stay at 15%, preferably less, for break in.

Additional note: How did you find a new "FP" engine? Been out of production for a long time.

Bill.
Old 05-25-2005, 12:55 PM
Don Brent

Thanks Bill,
I'll try leaving the glow heat on. I'm only running 10% Nitro (18% Castor), so I would hope it could handle that. As far as having a new 60FP, I bought it new in 1997 and since then it's been on my shelf while I was too busy working to have a hobby. I'm glad to be back at the workbench again.
Don
Old 05-25-2005, 01:00 PM
William Robison

Don:

1997? You may have one of the last that was true ABC. If so, take care of it, it will last a long time.

Bill.
Old 05-25-2005, 05:56 PM
Don Brent