Search
Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Welcome to Club SAITO !

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2015, 08:48 AM
RH

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

[QUOTE=SrTelemaster150;12011131That engine was run with either excessive valve lash for a long time or it was over revved repeatedly. Either case would have the tappets slamming into the lobe ramps resulting in the abnormal wear patterns exhibited.[/QUOTE]

Sr...

You've piqued my interest on the valve lash issue. If I may, I'd like to dig a little deeper and see if you can offer further advice.

The 82 was my first Saito which I've been running since 2006. I learned early on (most likely in this forum) the necessity of closely monitoring the valve lash settings. As I recall, when the engine started very gradually to run rough awhile after it had been broken in, it was suggested that I check the valve specs. They were out of spec by a good margin, so that's what got me into the valve lash checking routine. Once I got it set properly (?) the engine has been running great. Of course that included regular checks of the valve lash. It was the need to replace the bearings that prompted this latest maintenance inspection that turned up the damage.

So my question has to do with what you meant by 'excessive valve lash'? I think I mentioned earlier in this discussion that I will try setting mine at .0015 as you suggested. Since I've been using .003 to .004 as a target in the past, do you suppose that over a long period of time (several years in this case) this could be the cause of the damage?

>> I've run Cool Power for years W/CDI in an FA-150. Much leaner needle settings than with GI
Old 03-27-2015, 09:42 AM
blw
My Feedback: (3)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Hobbsy
Over revving will also cause that, (probably quicker than too much lash), using the Saitos provided gauge of .0039" will not. Every time I read about someone using a 4" pitch prop I cringe and think about that happening.