Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Welcome to Club SAITO !

Reply

Old 02-20-2019, 01:24 PM
  #38976  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 243
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Quikturn View Post
I recently sold an O.S. fs-70II I had on a profile Katana in favor of the Saito 65 which I purchased NIB. They both have the same relative weight & power. The fs-70 ran perfectly fine, is a mild manner engine and unintimidating to start. The carb is easy to tune as well.

Maybe itís me, but the Saito 65 requires more caution when starting. Itís a beast! It kicks a lot more and probably not fully broken in and tuned yet. I only have a few flights on it with my P-40.

So if one one is looking for lighter weight, raw power, great reliability with good looks Saito is the way to go. But OS has a place as well due to their ease of operation.

Once the 65 is fully broke in and you get the LSN fully leaned it'll be a sugar plum to start.
Glowgeek is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 01:29 PM
  #38977  
Captcrunch44
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: dysart, IA
Posts: 856
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by acdii View Post
I have come to the conclusion the AMA is useless. It's bad enough we are required to register with the FAA, now we have to disfigure our scale birds with the stupid number. Screw them, going to make the number so small you need a magnifying glass to see them. They say has to be outside, they didn't say how big!
thats what I did with my rascal
the smellest letters you can print off. Tucked up under the tail. In black but think of doing that in the color of the plane.
They didnít say what color
Captcrunch44 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 01:31 PM
  #38978  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 243
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Do we have to register with the FAA? I thought that was off.
Glowgeek is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 01:35 PM
  #38979  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 9,456
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Glowgeek View Post
Do we have to register with the FAA? I thought that was off.
Yes you do.as of 2/25/2019 and it has to be on the outside of the airplane.

https://www.faa.gov/news/updates/?newsId=93045
FlyerInOKC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 01:58 PM
  #38980  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 243
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by FlyerInOKC View Post
Yes you do.as of 2/25/2019 and it has to be on the outside of the airplane.

https://www.faa.gov/news/updates/?newsId=93045
The link is for drones.
Glowgeek is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 02:02 PM
  #38981  
Quikturn
My Feedback: (12)
 
Quikturn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 813
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Our local club requires proof of FAA registration. Unfortunately, the whole joint is caught up in the drone inspired regulations.
Quikturn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 02:08 PM
  #38982  
Quikturn
My Feedback: (12)
 
Quikturn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 813
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Glowgeek View Post
You've got some beauties for this coming season. They both look new!

BTW, your bench is WAAAY too clean to be useful......
Thanks! They both are new.

Youre right. Way too clean! Lol.

Iím currently sidetracked on a power supply project for a foam cutter.
Quikturn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 02:30 PM
  #38983  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 243
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Quikturn View Post


Thanks! They both are new.

Youre right. Way too clean! Lol.

Iím currently sidetracked on a power supply project for a foam cutter.
Really? You gonna cut your own wings?
Glowgeek is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 03:31 PM
  #38984  
Quikturn
My Feedback: (12)
 
Quikturn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 813
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yes sir! I have several kits with foam core wings and a few oddball fiberglass fuselages that need wings cut. I have a bunch of foam sheets saved so I decided to try my hand at cutting my own. Sheeting wing cores is new to me so rather than screwing up cores from a kit Iíll try to cut my own and sheet them. I have an already built scat cat with a foam wing and itís suprisingly strong.
Quikturn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 04:14 PM
  #38985  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 243
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Quikturn View Post
Yes sir! I have several kits with foam core wings and a few oddball fiberglass fuselages that need wings cut. I have a bunch of foam sheets saved so I decided to try my hand at cutting my own. Sheeting wing cores is new to me so rather than screwing up cores from a kit Iíll try to cut my own and sheet them. I have an already built scat cat with a foam wing and itís suprisingly strong.
That's awesome, I love a challange. There's a YT vid of a guy cutting wings with a homemade wire cutter. I know quite a bit about resistance wire so if you need help on the electrical side PM me.
Glowgeek is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 05:21 PM
  #38986  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 9,456
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Glowgeek View Post
The link is for drones.
Our airplanes are considered the same as drones (Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) operated by a a recreational user).
FlyerInOKC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 05:46 PM
  #38987  
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 7,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by FlyerInOKC View Post
Our airplanes are considered the same as drones (Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) operated by a a recreational user).
Hence the reason the AMA is useless! They failed to categorize what a Drone is in order to separate those toys that people have been flying illegally from our hand crafted beauties that we fly line of site, at a sanctioned flying field. Think I may get a laser cutter just to laser etch the number on the head of the Saitos.
acdii is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 06:29 PM
  #38988  
Glowgeek
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 243
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by FlyerInOKC View Post
Our airplanes are considered the same as drones (Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) operated by a a recreational user).
I'm totally out of the loop on this stuff. Ok, my airplane is a drone, got it Thanks Flyer

Last edited by Glowgeek; 02-20-2019 at 06:32 PM.
Glowgeek is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 02:26 AM
  #38989  
Rudolph Hart
 
Rudolph Hart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Perth, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 4,157
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default


Originally Posted by Glowgeek View Post
You've got some beauties for this coming season. They both look new!

BTW, your bench is WAAAY too clean to be useful......
Bugger the bench,look at that saito engine box,never seen them here in aus.
Rudolph Hart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 10:26 AM
  #38990  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 3,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Rudolph Hart View Post
Bugger the bench,look at that saito engine box,never seen them here in aus.
Pete, I hate to tell you this, but my cousin Paul has one of those 7 Liter 500's, with the 427 side oil'er and 8 Pack on top, he says it's gets 12 MPG. he said he saw it F/S in the news paper, it was on one of the lakes over here, he said when he saw it up for sale he said to himself he didn't believe it was a real 7 Liter, but if it was he wanted it, when he saw it the heads were gone but the manifold and 8 pack was there,,, he snagged it, 3 months later he had heads for i..

I would rate the car at about a #7 out of 10,, I was supposed to go for a ride in it but I have not gone back, he also has a old Thunderbird, but I don't remember the year, I didn't look at it

Jim
the Wasp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 12:19 PM
  #38991  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 3,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Garry, I have sent you a PM, I have a machining question about Tapping and strength , please answer

Jim
the Wasp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 03:08 PM
  #38992  
Hobbsy
My Feedback: (101)
 
Hobbsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Colonial Beach, VA
Posts: 18,816
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default



66 7 Litre


66 427 with 2 fours
You have to be careful calling the 427 a 7 Litre because there was a Ford model called the 7 Litre but was a 428 and was a gutless gas hog compared to the 427. The 427's were conservatively rated at 425 HP but most examples actually had 625 to 650.

Last edited by Hobbsy; 02-21-2019 at 03:22 PM. Reason: Add content
Hobbsy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 04:44 PM
  #38993  
acdii
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Capron, IL
Posts: 7,588
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Look how simple they were! There's an engine!
acdii is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 05:54 PM
  #38994  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 3,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by Hobbsy View Post
66 7 Litre
66 427 with 2 fours
You have to be careful calling the 427 a 7 Litre because there was a Ford model called the 7 Litre but was a 428 and was a gutless gas hog compared to the 427. The 427's were conservatively rated at 425 HP but most examples actually had 625 to 650.

so the engines in your photos are the 428 ?? the Plugs are down by the Headers, not on top.. or are there 2 different 427 heads ??

it's been a long-long time since I have seen a 428, since somewhere around 1984, my friend had the 69 Mach 1 CJ 428 Mustang, he bought it with 29 thousand miles on it in 1978 for>>>>>>> $750. it had more bottom end than my L79 327 I had in my 71 Nova, it would get off the line faster but my little 327 would catch it and pass it, but my engine had it's compression ratio upped from stock

BTW, my cousin's 7 Liter is the 67

Jim

Last edited by Hobbsy; 02-22-2019 at 04:12 AM. Reason: Mistake
the Wasp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 05:59 PM
  #38995  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 3,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by acdii View Post
Look how simple they were! There's an engine!
yes, but today there are 700 HP 427 LS engines that get 18 MPG

Jim
the Wasp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 06:52 PM
  #38996  
rowdog_14
My Feedback: (5)
 
rowdog_14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Austell, GA
Posts: 920
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have a saito 60t on a H9 cub but the throttle is located to close and I need a throttle linkage similar to what people put on a heli for the carbs that are set deep into the frame. I will try and find a picture of what I need. Does anyone know of a company that makes something like that, that will extend the arm out?
rowdog_14 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 08:24 PM
  #38997  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 3,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by rowdog_14 View Post
I have a saito 60t on a H9 cub but the throttle is located to close and I need a throttle linkage similar to what people put on a heli for the carbs that are set deep into the frame. I will try and find a picture of what I need. Does anyone know of a company that makes something like that, that will extend the arm out?

something like this, just an extension ??

Click image for larger version

Name:	osmg1951-main.png
Views:	2
Size:	47.9 KB
ID:	2263554

Jim
the Wasp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 08:36 PM
  #38998  
the Wasp
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: VT
Posts: 3,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I just checked my OS engine, like the one I just posted above, the extension is part of the Barrel,

but accordingly to Horizon your 60T has the same type Throttle Arm as the 82, if Saito doesn't make an extension you will have to make it or have some one make it for you,,, o boy, you will have to do something different, because you can not cover the Idle Needle

https://www.horizonhobby.com/product...%3A-p-saie060t

Jim

Last edited by the Wasp; 02-21-2019 at 08:38 PM.
the Wasp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 09:14 PM
  #38999  
FlyerInOKC
My Feedback: (6)
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 9,456
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by rowdog_14 View Post
I have a saito 60t on a H9 cub but the throttle is located to close and I need a throttle linkage similar to what people put on a heli for the carbs that are set deep into the frame. I will try and find a picture of what I need. Does anyone know of a company that makes something like that, that will extend the arm out?
Would this help?

https://www.dubro.com/collections/al...rottle-linkage
FlyerInOKC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 09:57 PM
  #39000  
Quikturn
My Feedback: (12)
 
Quikturn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 813
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thatís what I was going to recommend. The 4 stroke linkage system works well and provides extra clearance away from the firewall.
Quikturn is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service