Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Welcome to Club SAITO !

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2011, 06:12 AM
mono wing

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Welcome to Club SAITO !

I drill a small hole in the cowl and insert a a small hex head screw I believe it is 2mm in where the needle goes and use an extra long allen wrench to adjust mine 
I know some people that use piano wire or wire from a bass guitar to extend it thru the cowl
Hope this helps.

Bill
Old 07-26-2011, 06:36 AM
clytle374

Great thanks. Found a 2mm socket head cap screw that fits great.
Old 07-26-2011, 07:08 AM
earlwb

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

ORIGINAL: lopflyers
The thing is that I took a plug from my box that was not in the package so Im not sure if it is an F or not.
If it is not, can the wrong size plug make it smoke? I dont think but I am new in the hobby.
If the glow plug was a colder heat range variety, then yes it might be why it is smoking more than normal. Usually the 4 stroke engines won't run all that well, if the glow plug is a cold one.

I would suggest a Fox Miracle Glow plug or a Saito Glow Plug or the OS F one.

Old 07-26-2011, 07:13 AM
earlwb

ORIGINAL: w8ye
Most four stroke plugs have distinctive look - notice the protrusion at the bottom?

Yeah OH did that for some odd reason. I think it was to improve the combustion chamber shape on the inside. But OS also machined a recess or ridge or lip at the bottom of the glow plug hole, in which the machined tip of the glow plug fits in. So one has to be careful to use glow plugs designed to fit in the glow plug holes machined like that.