Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Noisy Saito FA 100

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2005, 07:50 AM
Digger44
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noisy Saito FA 100

Does anyone know of a good reliable repair shop for these motors. I know Horizon does service this motor but they charge $30.00 an hr. It's not under warranty but fairly new, bought it with a used Funtana. I would consider repairing it myself with some direction if anyone is willing to advise. I have no experience with 4-stroke engines and little with 2-stroke, I have disassembled and cleaned with success. The noise sounds like it is coming from the cam or the front bearing area. When turning the shaft you can feel metal catching and grinding. This may be a front bearing destroyed but I really am not sure. When running the motor, it sounds awful. Loud wonning or grinding. Just started this noise yesterday(somewhat lower noise) and kept getting worse. I did checked the valve lash and it was a little tight. Adjusted and tried again , no help. Any advise would be appreciated.
Thanks, Bob
Old 09-10-2005, 08:27 AM
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: Noisy Saito FA 100

Sounds like a bad bearing?
Old 09-10-2005, 01:12 PM
William Robison
My Feedback: (3)

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

[b]Dig:

Agree. Bearing. Do not run the engine again until it is checked.

I'm currently doing an FA-91 for a fellow who ignored bad bearings - bad damage to the cylinder wall from bits of bearing caught in the piston. Looks like vertical file marks.

Go to the end of the "Club Saito" thread, I made a post there about Saito internal inspection yesterday. Includes the comment about the bearing failure and cylinder.

More questions, just ask.

Bill.
Old 09-13-2005, 05:43 PM
Digger44