Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

How HOT?

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2006, 09:44 AM
Warning
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How HOT?

Im new to tuning my engine and how hot should a glow engine get?

And to me i seem to get my engine to run great but the engine seems to be pretty hot?

Is that alright ???

Thanks for the help everyone!
Old 08-19-2006, 10:04 AM
RaceCity

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: How HOT?

Engines get hot. There are no published guidelines for operating temperatures of any specific glow engine because of the large number of variables that would influence this.

Did you just get a temp gun? Take it back and see if you can exchange it for a good tach..something useful.

Learn to tune your engine by ear and by tach. When you are satisfied it is running properly you can take some temperature readings and record them for future use with THAT engine/installation. It will not be useful information should you change engines, installations, etc.

Temp guns are pretty useless for our purposes in the grand scheme of things because we don't know what we're looking for.

Old 08-19-2006, 04:34 PM
Stubshaft

Run the engine at full throttle, and at max power settings DO NOT go over 200deg.measured with temp gun at the head. Use the temp gun in conjunction with tach (with 200 deg. as max lean temp.), and you should be able to find the best power curve/fuel setting. This will also tell you if engine is lugging due to improper prop selection or overrevving.
Old 08-19-2006, 06:03 PM
Cyclic Hardover
My Feedback: (3)

PLease do a search on Temp guns or indicators. We go through this every two weeks. There are no published specs on temps for glow engines. They get hot. If you touch it and burn your hand then don't touch it again! If it gets too hot, you'll know it. There is a 90% chance that your engine will lose poser slowly and or quit running while in flight.