Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

K&B .65 Sportster

Old 11-24-2006, 11:41 AM
JollyPopper
My Feedback: (6)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default K&B .65 Sportster

I picked up a K&B .65 Sportster for next to nothing. It was new, never mounted or run. I have been attempting for several months now, off and on, to break this turkey in. It runs well for awhile and then quits very suddenly, as if someone were turning off the ignition in a car. It does not slow and die, stutter, gurgle or anything. It just quits. It is running at 3/4 to full throttle one second and dead the next. It has not been run lean at any time. Too rich if anything. I have been using 15% nitro--maybe that is the problem. I am not very impressed with this engine and have been tempted to simply discard it, but thought I'd ask you folks before I deep sixed it. Oh, Completely changed all fuel lines, tank, stopper, etc. It is not a problem getting fuel to the carb. anyone????
Old 11-24-2006, 02:13 PM
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: K&B .65 Sportster

You need to run more oil in this engine than what normally comes in todays fuel.

Also the engine is not a high rpm engine so a little bit larger prop at a slower rpm is in order once you get it broken in.

Some people that learned the engine's idiosyncrasies enjoy them. Other's think they are junk.
Old 11-24-2006, 03:00 PM
rcdude7
My Feedback: (264)

That engine is unlike any other, it has a chromed piston running in a bare aluminum bore, also the con rod has no bushings. The alloy they are made from is supposedly a very good bearing material in itself, hence the bare bore. They take a long time to break-in and a very oily fuel mix is preferred, mostly castor. The sportsters are good engines once they are broken-in properly, and prefer to swing props that are on the large side.
Old 11-24-2006, 06:09 PM
FrancisPerson